Creamed Cooked Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
What a great way to use up "economical" cabbage! We loved this! Didn't have bread crumbs so used up the remainder of a bag of tortilla chips broken up for the topping. Delicious! Cathy L.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Leonard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I give it one start because it was easy. I can't however give it anymore than that. My husband and I found this quite bad. We couldn't even finish our serving. After seeing the reviews, I thought that this would be something we would like, but it isn't for us. I followed the directions to a tee, but after it was all said and done, I can't think of anyway to improve this recipes. I love creamed turnips and thought this might be like it, but it isn't. Thanks for sharing, but I will continue to look for a different kinda way of fixing cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Sand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Swansea, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Fabulous! For low carb, I used two heaping teaspoons of Splenda and as other mixed it all together in a bowl before pouring into the casserole dish. To spice up the bread crumb topping I mixed 3/4 C each bread crumbs, shredded emmentaler, and shredded parmesan. My hubby and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This is one of my favorites, I'm used to seeing it with a little paprika, and no sugar, so when I started craving it, and looked up the recipe I was a little suprised. Since I try to stay away from as much processed sugar as I can (no always sucessful with that...lol) I went ahead and left that out, but still was soooooo yummy. I stirred the seasonings into the cream, and tossed the cabbage and cream together in a mixing bowl before putting it in the casserole dish. Had an open(read:stale...lol) package of crackers in the cupbord, so smashed them up to use for my crumb topping, and added a little bit of parmasean to the top just to be creative. This recipe is always recieved well, and is mostly goof-proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Yummm...makes my tummy all warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: University Place, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
good and easy! I would use less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
This was very good!! I made it for a group of people and everyone loved it. My husband was disappointed that there were not any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
Excellent holiday sidedish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States