Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
same recipe I use but rinse chipped beef before use otherwise it is very salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is a good basic recipe for chipped beef. I added a little bit of garlic powder, fresh ground black pepper and a sprinkle of paprika. I also put in a can of LeSeur baby peas. (my mother always added that when I was a kid, and I just have to have peas in my chipped beef!) I soaked my beef a couple of times before I added it to the sauce. It wasn't salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Well not sure what's i'm missing here but this recipe was bland in the tenth degree! I followed according to the recipe but definately not for me and I'm a lover of SOS....I'll have to keep looking. Maybe I didn't read enough of the reviews to p/u some improvements but as written, a waste of time and food...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Great recipe reminded me of my childhood…I made a few changes I used herbed butter and sliced corned beef that I diced up! Very tasty and will make again! Thanks for the basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Have been eating this since childhood, we often have it for dinner, only I add scrambled eggs, and also use the budding corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deltarose2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pelion, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Just like Mom's! Both my young boys ate this up. Quite a feat since my youngest (2) doesn't like meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange City, Florida, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Just like my grandmother used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Made this last night and it sure took me back to the good old days. This is the same way my mother made it. The only change I made was to use bacon grease instead of butter. I did splurge on the jar beef. The jar is now larger than I remember it but I believe it had the same amount of beef. I guess they want to make you feel you are getting more for the high price.We ate it on plain toast which is what my mother always used. It is a real comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Good, solid recipe - brought back memories of one of dad's specialties when I was a kid. I found the salt level fine without rinsing the dried beef, but I did make a little extra on the white sauce so that may have helped. Added some cracked black pepper, served over rice - YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States