Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Upon a review and suggestion I used lunch meat and I would have to say use the dried beef it would had been much better. My son loved it. The husband said it was ok. And well my opinion is lesser of the two. The cream sauce seemed to be missing that flavor that comes with it and that may had been due to using the lunch meat instead of the dried beef. So I would maybe try this again but I would use the dried beef and maybe a tablespoon more of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RatherBeCooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Delicious! I forgot and added salt so it was too salty- big boo boo- the dried beef has plenty of salt. I halved the recipe for two people, and added at least half a cup more milk, as it kept getting thick, which stretched it far enough for 4 english muffin halves, as half the recipe alone would not have been enough. Great quick filling breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This is the standard Philadelphia recipe and it's great except for the jar of dried beef. Use real dried beef available from www.PhillyPretzels.com shopping cart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
My mother used to make this when I was a child for us all the time since we didn't have very much money. It's my absolute favorite. it's simple, easy, and brings back memories. it's not a flavorful dish if you're looking for something fancy and awakening, but if you have the same reasoning as i do, it's just a comfort food. And to make it better, my mom always put chopped hard-boiled eggs in hers. YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarelizm90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I used canned venision and it turned out great. I just let the venision drain and dry while I was cooking the gravy and it was awesome. I did add garlic and onion to my rue for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Delicious! I haven't made this in ages and it hit the spot tonight.I used 1/2 stick butter and approx 1/2 cup of flour..be sure and cook that a minute or two to get rid of the flour taste. I then added the milk, slowly stirring and last added 2 pkgs of chipped beef that I sliced in 1/4 inch slices. Always a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Loved the simplicity of this recipe. My son and I just had this for lunch served over a plate of crispy crackers. I added beef bouillon to the thickening roux and though it added an even hardier flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My family devoured this, so warm and comforting and super easy, used the jar beef and all I did was rinse it first came out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
It was easy and my boyfriend loved it! I used the Buddig beef! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adornic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Talihina, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Very great recipe. As a vegetarian, I replaced the beef with 8oz of seitan (meat substitute) and it still tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States