Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made this twice, already. Takes me back when my Mom made it. Very tasty ! The cayenne adds the finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I used Budding meats (cause that's what Mom used!) and thought 4 ounces was plenty. Excellent recipe - thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This was one of my favorite breakfast dishes when we were out at sea & the alternative was re-constituted powdered eggs. I still fix it or order it wherever I can find it. It's easy to fix, filling & tasty. You can also buy chipped beef in the deli section of your supermarket in a package that's better than the stuff in the can or jar, & it's just right for a couple of people. Also, try it over split buttermilk biscuits. Very good! Mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grandmaNancy
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
My husband has been talking about the creamy chipped beef his mom served him when his was a child so I decided to make it for him. She is no longer with us so I couldn't ask her for her recipe and I came across this one and thought I'd give it a try. My husband loved it with the exception that he, like many others, thought it was too salty so next time I will rinse the meat. Changes I made: I added onion with the melted butter and I added the meat to the onions before the flour. I used 2 cups of milk instead of 1.5 cups and I add a sprinkle of nutmeg. My husband said it was perfect except for the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PattyB
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Made this the other night for my family and it was so good! This my first time making the dish, so I didn't change anything. I decided to double the recipe since my husband had been craving this and I'm really glad that I did. He enjoyed it a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Monett, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
a hit in our house. i did substitute ground beef ( hamburger) for the dried beef, had to add salt. if using dried beef, no salt needed! still a hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I love it! It's just like mom used to make. For a yummy and slightly richer variation on this timeless classic, substitute bresaola for the dried beef. I could live off of this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
My husband said it was just like his mom used to make. I followed the reviews that said to rinse the beef, saute with the butter and then add flour. I think this helps the flour mix better with the half & half when it's added. Also only used 4.5 oz of meat for a full recipe since that's how big the jar was that I bought. That was plenty of meat. I'll probably double the recipe next time, but just use the 8 oz of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I used a pound of ground beef and doubled the gravy part. As written this would only serve 2 people at my house. This turned out well. I added a cube of beef bouillon since I wasn't using the salty dried beef. I put this over biscuits and my husband loved it and was very happy with this comfort food. Thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Grew up on chipped beef on toast and have been making it myself for 40+ years. Never occurred to me to add cayenne pepper (we love cayenne pepper). The addition of this ingredient changes plain old (SOS) into a truly tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States