Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
we always enjoyed the creamed beef over baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
You will have more flavor if you tear up the beef into large bite size pieces, saute in the butter for a bit and then add the flour and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seward, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Utica, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Five Stars: Make a large batch, divide and place desired portions (usually not more than two) in quart-size freezer bags and freeze. Just pop in microwave for about 5-7 minutes to heat up. Great quick meal, especially served over English muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Awesome - have made this for years and also use the Buddig brand - we like the corned beef. Add a dash of nutmeg for an extra bit of seasoning. SO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
That takes me back to our early days of marriage when we didn't have much money. I make it with a bag of Buddig beef and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Just seeing this listed, brought back many memories of my mom, opening up that tiny jar of either Hormel or Armour Chipped Beef. A dish that she prepared several times a year. I too would rinse off the excess salt, tastes have changed and so has the information about too much sodium; back when I was a little boy, there was not that much processed food around and the amount of salt that was used to cure this chipped beef wasn't much of an issue--however today, that is not the case. A great, American, comfort food item and like some of the other respondents, I was in the military and this was called by a name that doth not be listed here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I've had this dish (sans cayenne, add black pepper) for as long as I can remember. Always a family favorite (: & we call it SOS, too, but it stands for S**t On Shingles lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Make it just like this recipe and you can't go wrong! It is delicious! Top with a shake or two of black pepper. When my parents married in 1953, the only thing my mother could cook was creamed chipped beef on toast. So, meal after meal week after week she made it until my father almost tossed her out! Eventually, she became a fabulous cook, and the story of the chipped beef and how my father grew to hate it was a funny part of the family history. One day, when I was about twelve, I asked her to make it so I could taste what she had cooked meal after meal all those years before. She did, and when my father got home ready for dinner, he took one look at the chipped beef on toast and said, "Oh, no! Not this stuff again! Didn't we just have this???" She never made it again! Another quicky recipe for this dish is to chip the beef into canned concentrated mushroom soup, adding only a little milk to get the right soupiness. Heat slowly over low heat to avoid scorching. Don't forget the cayenne - a bit more is tasty. And the toast must be fresh, well browned, and hot for the best effect. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I love this, I had it as a child and now and then as a quick meal. The only thing I do different is to rinse the beef under running water for a few minutes to get rid of some salt. Awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Thank you! I have been looking for a simple and tasty recipe for this dish for awhile. Having grown up in a Navy family we had a different, and far less appealing, meaning of "SOS" but always loved it just the same. True comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Butler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States