Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Yummy, yummy....Love this over big fluffy baked potatoes, too. Really delish....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
add Nutmeg to taste...i always do that...it adds flavor and you dont even know its there
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I have never heard of dried beef in a jar, nor have I ever seen it in the store. I have made this many a time with browned ground beef in a brown gravy instead of a creamed one. I like it fixed that way a lot, but am turned off by dried or even luncheon meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was a standard for us duiring WWII. We had it at least once per week. Could be served at any meal, and was a godsend for my widowed mother with 5 of us to feed. I was the oldest and always loved this and still make it. It is identical to what we made but without the cayenne. When I added this it was a definite plus. 5 stars plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is so good, and so quick. Actually you can use any kind of meat or even a can of tuna and put it on toast. I think they called it SOS in the army. I have made it many times. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I've always added the chipped beef to the butter and let it cook just a little bit, it seems to add flavor to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is a good recipe which I used except for the cayenne-I used black pepper instead. But over the years I tweaked it. Melt the butter in the pan, then put shredded dried beef in the butter. Let it sizzle on medium heat for 3-4 minutes, stirring often. It will develop a better flavor by doing that - and give it more of a chew factor. Then add the flour, stir until 'roux' develops, add the milk and (just) pepper (no salt necessary. simmer till thickened and bubbly. You can also throw in a small can of drained baby peas (or frozen) - like a half cup; and if you like mushrooms, toss some (canned, drained) of those in also. I personally like it over biscuits instead of toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
My mother called this "chipped beef on toast". I have made this for years, taking over from my mother making this for all of my life. We use the larger container of Carl Budding Beef, equal to about two little plastic bag packages, and cut the beef into bite-size strips. And we always add a drained can of green peas. We use fresh ground black pepper, although cayenne disappears in the cream sauce for for a better look. There is never any of this left over with three people eating it for a meal at my house. My mother had to feed five people, and we were always wanting more! We butter our toast before putting the chipped beef on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zee And All

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I like to add a chopped hard boiled egg or two to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
To raise this dish to a higher level, sweat a couple of TBSP finely chopped shallots in the butter before adding the flour for the roux. Make using half and half and plenty of freshly ground black pepper. Serve over toasted English muffins. I always soak my beef in some cold water before chopping and adding to the white sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States