Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I usually use the hamburger as chipped beef uncommon in Thailand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
We always add frozen or canned peas to it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Almost exactly how I have made it for many years. Anyone from military families Know this term came from them and was simple just like this recipe is. By the way, I did make this exactly and it was good. I usually fried my chipped beef in the butter first for more flavor. Good over biscuits too. Toast is the bomb though. In my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Rivera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
We have eaten this every Easter Sunday, for the past 50 years. Here’s our family’s twist. First we make a roux with butter, onions, Wondra flour & whole milk. A nice rich white sauce. The chipped beef is sliced & then must be soaked in warm water to get the saltiness out. The hard boiled colored easter eggs are peeled and chopped & go into the white sauce when it’s finished. Serve over toast. Some pastel color comes out from the dye on to the white of the egg & it's very eastery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
" on a Shingle" as I know it is made with a white sauce, has peas in it, and is sprinkled with curry powder, not cayenne. Nouveau " on a Shingle" is made with a roux, Buddig roasted turkey, peas and has lots of extra hot curry added to the mix. Probably would taste good with a cold beer--a Kingfisher beer from India.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
One of my favorite comfort foods from my childhood. Made more special beacuse only my father and I liked it. We made it with Budding packaged meat when everyone else had something better to do. When I make it now I wish I could share it with him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I usually use the packaged beef also, but I usually saute it in the butter for a few minutes then add the flour to the pan and stir until the butter is absorbed. Add the milk and stir until thickened. It seems to give the white sauce a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is so easy, delicious, and cheap. I always used the packaged corned beef lunch meat (usually store brand 3 or 4/$1.00) and always added a cup or two of frozen peas. This makes it colorful, filling and a little more nutritious-my kids used to love this while they were growing up! I probably doubled the sauce portions, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScubaMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
for all of us military people out there this is more commonly known as sh@t on a shingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is great for breakfast, lunch or dinner. I add a beaten egg and stir in before it is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States