Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ajax
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This recipe is great for a start, provides a nice frame work to build on. I added 1 1/2 tsp of Smoked Paprika in place of the cayenne pepper. I also used thin slices of deli style roast beef instead of the jarred beef. I then boiled a 1/2 package of pasta ( shells). I added a 1/4 package of frozen peas to the sauce and let that cook over simmer then added the pasta. My family asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I really liked the flavor, instead of one pinch of cayenne I did two quick shakes of it. I also did a couple shakes of black pepper. I used 4 of the 2oz. pkgs of Buddig beef. I did NOT rinse first and it was not too salty. I used unsweetened regular almond milk in place of regular milk. I used 6 slices of Brownberry white country bread and threw them straight out of the freezer into the oven at 400 for 12 mins or so. This fed one adult and two small children. I served it with Grippos Chips. Good recipe, I haven't had this for years! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Very blah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bree
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This is a great recipe. my boy friend liked it .thank you, so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Super easy recipe. I didn't have dried beef and my son really wanted cream chipped beef so I substituted for shaved deli ham. I added some salt, pepper, red pepper flakes and paprika (because I didn't have cayenne pepper). Served over buttered toast with fried eggs. He loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great recipe, good quick food! Granted, your mother protected you from where the SOS term came from. It was originally military (this was something they could have on the go), and Same Ol' Stuff... is the nice version, they called it Sh.. On a Shingle. I do the same thing, though, when my kids ask for the meaning on acronyms I learned in the military and used without thinking about it, so no harm, no foul :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamar Davies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
served with deer hamburger (3/4 lb). boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Just like my Mom used to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Collins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Great base for SOS. I sauted a little chopped onion in the butter and added one temperd egg yoke to the sauce once thickened. This makes for a rich and velvety sauce. Add a few drops of Worcestershire Sauce. For you pesto lovers try adding 2 Tbl spoons. I had some left over pesto in the fridge and it was pesto cream heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I browned my beef a little in butter added milk salt and pepper ... then sliced boiled eggs in it .. I like to tinker .. they all loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie M White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States