Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I love it! It's just like mom used to make. For a yummy and slightly richer variation on this timeless classic, substitute bresaola for the dried beef. I could live off of this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
My husband said it was just like his mom used to make. I followed the reviews that said to rinse the beef, saute with the butter and then add flour. I think this helps the flour mix better with the half & half when it's added. Also only used 4.5 oz of meat for a full recipe since that's how big the jar was that I bought. That was plenty of meat. I'll probably double the recipe next time, but just use the 8 oz of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I used a pound of ground beef and doubled the gravy part. As written this would only serve 2 people at my house. This turned out well. I added a cube of beef bouillon since I wasn't using the salty dried beef. I put this over biscuits and my husband loved it and was very happy with this comfort food. Thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Grew up on chipped beef on toast and have been making it myself for 40+ years. Never occurred to me to add cayenne pepper (we love cayenne pepper). The addition of this ingredient changes plain old (SOS) into a truly tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Just like my Mom used to make, so creamy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
OK - if the beef isn't swimming in the cream sauce, you've done it wrong. If the toast isn't completely covered in sauce, you've done it wrong. If you can eat it with your fingers, you've done it wrong. If you only put it on toast, you are missing out. Try it over your hash browns, or scrambled eggs, or both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
yum. I forgot to add the cayenne pepper but was still delicious. Simple ingredients and easy to make. Better than Stouffer's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
We grew up on this being a Navy family. Of course, SOS stood for something else. :) This is wonderful comfort food. It's super over home made biscuits also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Devinsmommy920
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
definately soak the beef first! as everyone else said, you can always add more salt. can't take it away! I normally don't eat SOS because of how salty it is, btu this was fantastic! Thoroughly enjoyed by both us! This will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devinsmommy920

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I hadn't had this since I was a kid and boy did it bring back some memories of my grandmothers kitchen. Quick and easy but I used budding brand meat that is used for sandwiches and cut it up to add it. Great meal when in a pinch, or just wanting something quick and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States