Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Love this dish. It used to be made a lot at our house when growing up. My dad was in the Air Force and they ate this often overseas. I found that I needed more sauce for one jar of meat as others have said. Great overall recipe and the now my kids love it as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This is a fine recipe with a few tweaks. I melt the butter in the top of a double broiler (on the stove top). When the butter has melted, add the dried beef (pre-rinsed). Cook the beef in the butter until it curls on the edges. Remove from heat and stir in the flour. Place the mixture over boiling water in the double broiler over med heat. Slowly stir in the milk and continue to cook until desired thickness. I add a Tbsp. of A1 sauce at the end of cooking. We serve this over biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juanita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
You need to double the recipe. The portion of roux to chipped beef is sparse. It only makes enough for two people or cover 4 pieces of toast and the chipped beef is really salty even though I rinsed the chip beef in hot water and let it boil in the roux. Next time I'll double the recipe and boil the chipped beef in water before adding to the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made this twice, already. Takes me back when my Mom made it. Very tasty ! The cayenne adds the finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I used Budding meats (cause that's what Mom used!) and thought 4 ounces was plenty. Excellent recipe - thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This was one of my favorite breakfast dishes when we were out at sea & the alternative was re-constituted powdered eggs. I still fix it or order it wherever I can find it. It's easy to fix, filling & tasty. You can also buy chipped beef in the deli section of your supermarket in a package that's better than the stuff in the can or jar, & it's just right for a couple of people. Also, try it over split buttermilk biscuits. Very good! Mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grandmaNancy
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
My husband has been talking about the creamy chipped beef his mom served him when his was a child so I decided to make it for him. She is no longer with us so I couldn't ask her for her recipe and I came across this one and thought I'd give it a try. My husband loved it with the exception that he, like many others, thought it was too salty so next time I will rinse the meat. Changes I made: I added onion with the melted butter and I added the meat to the onions before the flour. I used 2 cups of milk instead of 1.5 cups and I add a sprinkle of nutmeg. My husband said it was perfect except for the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PattyMB
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Made this the other night for my family and it was so good! This my first time making the dish, so I didn't change anything. I decided to double the recipe since my husband had been craving this and I'm really glad that I did. He enjoyed it a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Monett, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
a hit in our house. i did substitute ground beef ( hamburger) for the dried beef, had to add salt. if using dried beef, no salt needed! still a hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States