Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Great base for SOS. I sauted a little chopped onion in the butter and added one temperd egg yoke to the sauce once thickened. This makes for a rich and velvety sauce. Add a few drops of Worcestershire Sauce. For you pesto lovers try adding 2 Tbl spoons. I had some left over pesto in the fridge and it was pesto cream heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I browned my beef a little in butter added milk salt and pepper ... then sliced boiled eggs in it .. I like to tinker .. they all loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie M White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Needs more gravy and less meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I remember eating this at brunch on base when my dad was in the service. Overall, we enjoyed it! I bought the packaged lunch meat to save on cost. Next time, I would probably soak the meat in water and pat dry to reduce the salt a little bit. This is an easy recipe for a busy night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I have tried this recipe, but instead of chipped beef, I use cut up ham and it tastes so delicious! My daughter and mother finish off their plates before I even get my plate ready, and with my daughter, that's saying something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I added seasonings and this was still quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Awesome !!!!! I sautéed a small amt of onion in butter / along with the dried beef . Then added flour / then the milk .... This was the simplest recipe EVER !!! And tastes just like mom used to make !!!! I will put this in my rotation ! I served it with steamed carrots on the side ( so supper looked a little prettier ! Ha ) yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I also grew up on SOS from my British Grandmother and loved it. I was the only member of my team in Vietnam to go back for seconds in the mess hall and everyone thought I was crazy :) The chipped beef is becoming very difficult to find, though, in American supermarkets, but I moved to Canada about 8 years ago and discovered a butcher that produces a very thin beef that is smoked with Montreal spice. I was checking my refrigerator last night and found about a half pound (250gr) of beef and remembered the chipped beef on toast of my youth. It was simple and quick and just as I remembered. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walker Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
We had never had this before so because of all the good reviews I decided to make it. My 2 year old ate one bite and refused to eat any more. The sauce to meat ratio is off. Needs way more sauce. The dried beef was salty, even after rinsing twice in hot and cold water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Made it exactly according to the recipe, but used dried venison rather than beef. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States