Creamed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I read the reviews that some people found it bland so I made some small changes. I sauteed the cabbage in olive oil along with half an onion which I had leftover from another recipe. I had some leftover Asiago cheese that had rosemary in it that I used for most of the cheese but added what I needed of Romano cheese. I added a pinch of red pepper flakes to the cream sauce which I made with skim milk. To the top I added seasoned panko bread crumbs. Husband says this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
A different spin on cabbage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by star6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
living in Japan, cabbage is really cheap. This is by far the best ever. The ingredients are already at home, all you have to do is pick up a head of cabbage!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I'm embarrassed to admit that I ate the entire pan of this for dinner tonight. I used a mixture of cheeses - extra sharp Cheddar, smoked Gouda and Parmesan. This would be good with cabbage and cauliflower. Delicious. Thanks, Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Very good side dish for a chilly night. Used finely shredded extra sharp cheddar cheese instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Served this for Thanksgiving everyone said it was OK! Kind of bland. I thought it would be creamier. Don't know if I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Mixed review on this one. My husband loved it, I thought it was rather bland. I added a layer of shredded Swiss cheese in addition to the Parmesan/Romano cheese between layers of cabbage and sprinkled Swiss cheese over the top. Then I placed the casserole under the broiler for the last five minutes to brown the cheese. I must admit, the next day leftovers seemed tastier. It was something different to make with cabbage and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I sauteed the cabbage until tender instead of steaming. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
My husband loves cabbage, so I decided to try something different. This will be a keeper, he loved it. I used parmesan instead of romano, because I had all the other ingredients on hand. Kids wouldnt touch it, but I really didnt expect them to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
WE BOTH LOVED IT THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States