Creamed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I could eat an entire head of cabbage this way. So easy and so dang good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I have made this about five different ways for my client. With bacon, with sausage, adding nutmeg, onion, etc. Also used bacon grease for the roux. Never ever a bad combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This had a good flavor, but was a little bland. Doesn't need the romano cheese, just some onion powder, salt and pepper and a little bacon grease. Much better after I spiced it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
this is very similar to a dish I had in Taiwan, I added small package of dried shrimp and chili flakes, simple to make and a great side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Loved, loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
My favorite creamed cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I've had other creamed vegetables before, but never made it myself, and never thought of creaming cabbage. Sauteeing the cabbage in just a teaspoon each of olive oil and butter (in a non-stick pan) improves the flavor DRAMATICALLY over simply steaming it. I added a sliced onion & 2 shredded carrots as well. Traditionally, a roux is made by melting butter over medium heat, adding flour, then cooking and stirring constantly for a minute or so over medium heat (this gets rid of the "raw" flour taste that throwing all ingredients together at once causes), then adding milk, half-and-half or cream, and stirring until thickened and bubbly. Any type of cheese can be added. I had smoked gouda and some cheddar on hand, so used those. I really loved this recipe, and it definitely inspired me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Simple to make and I love the cheese in this. I made as wrtten and the only thing I would add is some butter bread crumbs to finish the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I followed this exactly except for adding a little shredded mozzarella cheese and sour cream. This is delicious!!! My kids like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States