Creamed Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I absolutely LOVED this version of the soup. I sauteed 1 onion, 1 carrot, 1 stalk of celery and ! clove of garlic, then added 4 cups of chicken broth and 4 stalks of chopped celery, simmered for 20 mns, also I used 1/2 cup heavy cream and 1 1/2 cups milk to get a richer taste. Also I added 1 tbs of creem cheese to my bowl and it was so delicious P.S. do NOT puree it, use a potato masher, it tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie_a

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Made this soup just the way it called for and everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very good soup and was restaurant worthy. I used lower sodium chicken bouillon powder and lower sodium soy sauce to cut down on the salt. I used whole milk instead of half and half. I didn't like the idea of the carrots being puree in the soup. I cooked them as stated (using only two) and removed them before the puree step. I added the carrots at the end with the remaining broccoli florets and it was a good taste. By far the best broccoli soup I have tried on this site. I highly recommend you try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
very good but I did not like the fact that you can taste the lemon. I will cut down on the lemon next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Very yummy and easy-to-make! I made a few changes to make it lower fat/lower sodium. I used chicken broth instead of water/bouillon powder and skim milk instead of half & half. Also, I had parsnips in the fridge, so I used those instead of carrots. Even with the substitutions, a very delicious and creamy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Delicious! The carrots gave it extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
half a tbsp of pepper works best. Milk instead of cream definitely better i used 2 percent. :D wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This soup is outstanding! I did use 2% milk to back off of the fat content, but otherwise followed it to the letter. It is a bit salty, so I may back off the chicken granules by 1 TBSP next time, but it is one of the best recipes I ever found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
My son doesnt like broccoli but loved this soup. I used home made chicken stock and added a potatoe to thicken so didnt bother with the flour. I also used 3 small carrots and added a little bit of salt to my taste. Loved it will definately add to the family menu. Its a great way to use some of my bulk broccoli growing in the garden. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
this soup is so delicious. my husband is not a big fan of creamed soups, but he loved this (despite the colour which he didn't like) I didn't put any soy sauce in, because I forgot, and I only used a cup of cream because that's all I had, and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greely, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States