Creamed Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Wonderful soup! The only change I would recommend is cutting back on the bouillon - I used only 2 tablespoons and it was great. I think with 4 it would be way too salty. I also threw in some celery, used whole milk, and doubled the pepper. Will definitely make this again! To those who think it looks unappetizing, just what did you expect creamed broccoli soup to look like? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I use a bit less butter, and no carrots. The rest stayed the same and this is my new favorite! We even froze the rest and had it for lunch a week later, very good! Thank you for this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I absolutely LOVED this version of the soup. I sauteed 1 onion, 1 carrot, 1 stalk of celery and ! clove of garlic, then added 4 cups of chicken broth and 4 stalks of chopped celery, simmered for 20 mns, also I used 1/2 cup heavy cream and 1 1/2 cups milk to get a richer taste. Also I added 1 tbs of creem cheese to my bowl and it was so delicious P.S. do NOT puree it, use a potato masher, it tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia Filin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Made this soup just the way it called for and everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very good soup and was restaurant worthy. I used lower sodium chicken bouillon powder and lower sodium soy sauce to cut down on the salt. I used whole milk instead of half and half. I didn't like the idea of the carrots being puree in the soup. I cooked them as stated (using only two) and removed them before the puree step. I added the carrots at the end with the remaining broccoli florets and it was a good taste. By far the best broccoli soup I have tried on this site. I highly recommend you try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
very good but I did not like the fact that you can taste the lemon. I will cut down on the lemon next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Very yummy and easy-to-make! I made a few changes to make it lower fat/lower sodium. I used chicken broth instead of water/bouillon powder and skim milk instead of half & half. Also, I had parsnips in the fridge, so I used those instead of carrots. Even with the substitutions, a very delicious and creamy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Delicious! The carrots gave it extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
half a tbsp of pepper works best. Milk instead of cream definitely better i used 2 percent. :D wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This soup is outstanding! I did use 2% milk to back off of the fat content, but otherwise followed it to the letter. It is a bit salty, so I may back off the chicken granules by 1 TBSP next time, but it is one of the best recipes I ever found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States