Creamed Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This really brought back my childhood, my Dad made this when he was in the Navy, and for us as kids. I added mushrooms and served it over sour cream and chive mashed potatoes! Comfort food at it's best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
After browning the meat, I drained it and sauteed one small sweet onion and about eight ounces of fresh mushrooms in the butter before adding the flour. I did need a little more butter because mushrooms do tend to suck up liquids. For a creamier sauce, I used half whole milk/half evaporated milk. I omitted the peas only because noone in this house likes them. I served this over toast. Everyone liked it, especially me. Pure comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Love this recipe - I did some alterations, about half the milk and flour, added some cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit. Then I spooned over egg noodles. I think next time, I will add some sour cream to the recipe and see how that works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I loved this... simple, good old fashioned, comfort home cooking. Took very little time and made a great meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Bland, other versions are better, peas do not go in creamed beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is a favorite go-to meal at our house. We serve it over toast or mashed potatoes. We don't drain the peas because we like the flavor it adds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I have trouble getting my college brothers to eat anything these days...they couldn't get enough of this recipe! I didn't have onions, except green ones, so used those; and added corn and golden mushroom soup to the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
It was good but I changed a bunch of things that I think made it a lot better. First I used left over roast beef that I cross cut so it made short fibers. I also added 1 tsp each of salt, pepper and tarragon and used frozen mixed vegetables instead of just peas. I cut back the milk to 3 cups and used 3 T corn starch instead of all that flour to thicken it. The tarragon really adds a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
For those of you who have found the receipe bland.... you need to make sure you are seasoning your beef as it cooks. I know the recipe doesn't say to but you should. You must cook your flour well. If you do not cook the flour in the butter long enough before you add the milk. You will taste the flour and the dish will be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
My family makes this under the recipe title "Ground Meat and Peas" and serves it over mashed potatoes or bread. Only we use far less milk and do not drain the peas. This will increase the flavor quite a bit. Also when it says add salt and pepper to taste, it should really read, add a 1 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper, or more to taste. You really need the pepper in this dish. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States