Creamed Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I needed to add another 1/4 cup flour and it was still runny but I didn't want to compromise the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Made it last night; AMAZING!! I grew up on creamed peas & toast and this brought me right back to those times with a kick. Loved the addition of the beef! I seasoned my beef before hand with onion, garlic, salt & pepper. I also didn't have canned peas so I used frozen and enjoyed that burst of flavor. Served with mashed potatoes and had enough leftovers for lunch today on toast. This is a keeper and looking forward to making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This really brought back my childhood, my Dad made this when he was in the Navy, and for us as kids. I added mushrooms and served it over sour cream and chive mashed potatoes! Comfort food at it's best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
After browning the meat, I drained it and sauteed one small sweet onion and about eight ounces of fresh mushrooms in the butter before adding the flour. I did need a little more butter because mushrooms do tend to suck up liquids. For a creamier sauce, I used half whole milk/half evaporated milk. I omitted the peas only because noone in this house likes them. I served this over toast. Everyone liked it, especially me. Pure comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Love this recipe - I did some alterations, about half the milk and flour, added some cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit. Then I spooned over egg noodles. I think next time, I will add some sour cream to the recipe and see how that works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I loved this... simple, good old fashioned, comfort home cooking. Took very little time and made a great meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Bland, other versions are better, peas do not go in creamed beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is a favorite go-to meal at our house. We serve it over toast or mashed potatoes. We don't drain the peas because we like the flavor it adds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I have trouble getting my college brothers to eat anything these days...they couldn't get enough of this recipe! I didn't have onions, except green ones, so used those; and added corn and golden mushroom soup to the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
It was good but I changed a bunch of things that I think made it a lot better. First I used left over roast beef that I cross cut so it made short fibers. I also added 1 tsp each of salt, pepper and tarragon and used frozen mixed vegetables instead of just peas. I cut back the milk to 3 cups and used 3 T corn starch instead of all that flour to thicken it. The tarragon really adds a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States