Creamed Beef for SOS Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made it just like the recipe and it was SO good! My husband loved it and that says a lot because I call him the Food Diva. My brother-in-law enjoyed it too. Everyone was stuffed and I would definitely make it again! The pepper gives it a nice kick too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Not a new recipe to me - but one that I hadn't made in a long time. One tip - if you let this sit and don't serve immediately, be prepared to add more milk. I also upped the flavor a bit by using finely diced red onion browned with the beef and added a small amount of worcestershire sauce plus fresh chopped parsley. Served over toast with sliced fresh tomatoes, this made a very satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I created this for supper one night when I didn't have anything else to cook but had all the ingredients on hand. Nothing fancy but really good - the whole family liked it! I added some red pepper flakes in it just for some added taste. Served it over biscuits, all of it was gone in a matter of minutes. Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I am an Army brat and I have fond memories of my dad making SOS for me in the mornings before school when he was home. I used this recipe today and it was wonderful. Thank you so much for taking the time to put your recipe on here. I didn't drain the beef, but I did use extra lean hamburger meat so that there wasn't quite so much grease in the skillet. :) YUM! (And I think it is BEST over toast...the toastiness is nice with the gravy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Very hearty, stick-to-your ribs comfort food. Made it exactly as written (used 73/27 ground beef) and it was very tasty. May increase seasoning a bit next time. I was worried it would be really peppery, but I actually couldn't really taste the pepper. The spices were all nicely balanced, and not one flavor overpowered another, so if I do increase the seasoning, I'd keep them at the same ratio to each other. :::EDIT::: I made this again with slightly leaner beef (80/20) and the sauce was WAY too thick this time around without that extra fat to soak up the flour. It still tasted great (I did double the seasoning this time), but I think in the future when using 80/20 ground chuck I'll reduce the flour to 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I used ground sausage and added a cup more of milk, and my whole family loved it and asked to have it again. Next time we might have it on biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I ate SOS almost every day for breakfast in the army for over 20 years, if it was avail. I just love the stuff. note that chicken bouilon is not part of the armys version of creamed beef, and this one is also missing worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was excellent. My husband loved it. However I did make a couple of additions to match our tastes. I added a slice of diced red onion to the cooking meat mixture, and a couple of dashes of worcestershire sauce when I added milk. I also used buttermilk instead of regular milk. I did have to use 2 cups of milk instead of just 1 1/2 cups, but that was expected from other reviews. Overall I will be making this again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francina Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
EXCELLENT!!! And so very tasty!! Although I was leery of using chicken bouillon, I am so glad I did, and followed the recipe exactly as written. This is, by far, the BEST recipe for SOS!!! Wish my dad, who was a WWII Air Corp veteran, was still with us to taste it. (He used to mix the flour in before browning, and, although delicious, his was a little too greasy for my liking.) This version allowed me to drain what little grease there was (I used ground round), and it still came out awesome!!! My husband insisted on seconds!!!! Thank you SO much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Nice flavor, this actually had some flavor unlike some SOS recipes. I had to add another half cup of milk though as this was too thick. This makes a fast and easy dinner. We are going out of town and needed to use up the milk and bread and this did both. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States