Creamed Beef for SOS Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I used to make this all the time, but w/o the chicken bullion. I fixed it exactly like the recipe & it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Good. My dad went crazy over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica_Farr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olean, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I am an Army brat and I have fond memories of my dad making SOS for me in the mornings before school when he was home. I used this recipe today and it was wonderful. Thank you so much for taking the time to put your recipe on here. I didn't drain the beef, but I did use extra lean hamburger meat so that there wasn't quite so much grease in the skillet. :) YUM! (And I think it is BEST over toast...the toastiness is nice with the gravy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Hamburger Gravy, is what we call it. We have been making this for years with the only difference being using fresh chopped onion and canned Evaporated milk. We sometimes use lean meat and add drippings saved from a roast. The kids love it and their perfect meal is mashed potatoes topped with the hamburger gravy and canned Le seur peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and this turned out wonderful! Quick, easy, delicious use of ground beef...it's a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
sorry couldn't get the 1/2 star in.......this was delish, loved it, very easy to make.....mine did turn out very thick I actually added a bit more milk and poured it over whole wheat pasta........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I loved mess hall food when I was a young Marine and look forward to this memory!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matt
Living In: Oakham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was a very tasty, comforting dish! Like already mentioned by another, this is no cuisuine although it is a delic Dish! The only thing I changed when cooking this recipe was add the two things I Always am cooking with! I cooked the beef with minced galic, along with the powders and at the end while it smmered I added about 2 tabs of butter to give a little more oomph of flavor. My boyfriend made a mmmm mmmm mmmm but I don't think he enjoyed it as much as I did. The best part was it was a snap to put together and cook! But that's probably why this recipe is no cuisine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Very yummy! Although the SOS I'm familiar with is more creamy then how this recipe turns out. I followed the recipe as stated but also added some garlic salt. Hubby also thought it would be good with mushrooms, but I liked it how it is. Will make again. Quick and easy and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsmarie04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, New York, USA
Living In: Madrid, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I created this for supper one night when I didn't have anything else to cook but had all the ingredients on hand. Nothing fancy but really good - the whole family liked it! I added some red pepper flakes in it just for some added taste. Served it over biscuits, all of it was gone in a matter of minutes. Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States