Cream Soup Base Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Would use less flour next time as it was too thick, so added more milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
The butter separated. What did i do? :( it tasted good though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Do NOT use bullion cubes! Use chicken broth/stock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I love how thick this got and was a great sauce for my chicken dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This was so quick and easy! I cut the recipe in half, added garlic powder, dill, pepper and broth from cooked chicken in the crock pot. It turned out great. Really tasty! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This is my go-to soup recipe! I've used this recipe for years and I always get rave reviews. I normally add potatoes or broccoli. It's easy to make and tastes like I worked harder than I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This is excellent. With a good imagination and this recipe, the world is your oyster (soup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven M,

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Woodmere, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Living in Spain means there isn't the availability of many tins of soups in flavours I like so I made this cream soup base to use in a Chicken Divan. I made it with mushrooms sautéed in butter and it was out of this world. After so many 'taste tests' to check that I really did like it, I almost didn't have enough for the Divan. I'm sure it would be nice with other flavours but I don't know that I'd be able to resist just doing mushroom everytime. Great recipe. One comment about quantities though - I didn't want 8 servings though so I halved the amounts but ended up still using about 2 cups of milk as it was extremely thick at first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
CAN BE MADE ALLERGY FRIENDLY! This recipe is easy, and very versatile! I have dairy issues, so I used coconut oil in place of butter, and almond milk instead of milk. It worked fine! Used it as a base for a delicious chicken-and-rice dish. I'll bet if you had gluten issues, arrowroot powder would work instead of flour, so long as you mixed the arrowroot in a little cold milk before adding it to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Used half the butter, 5 T flour rather than 6. DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States