Cream Sauce With Herbs and No Dairy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I followed the suggestions of another reviewer and added a few teaspoons of sugar. It really does make it taste more like a cream sauce because dairy is slightly sweet. I also added 4-5 large marinated mushrooms because they were in my fridge....and ooooo, SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
We plated this up for our 13 yr. old son and his friend without telling them what it was. They were both REALLY into it. I got compliments. That's right, from teenage boys. It was great. I changed a few little things: I used 1/2 cup tofutti sour cream and 1 cup soy milk (bc I had some s.c. to use up). I also nixed the dill and added fresh basi, salt, & pepper... Holy delicious, Batman! A very versatile recipe-- I'm thinking of adapting it for vegan fondue, nacho cheese sauce, mac n' cheese... yum. I would've taken a picture, but it was gone before I could get to the camera :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I can't believe how goooood this is! I really outdid the spices (because a few other reviewers said it was bland). Make sure you use SPIKE brand for the seasoning. I served it over zucchini pasta - this made it low-carb, low-fat, xtra healthy. YUM! Oh, at the suggestion of another reviewer, I added tomatoes, mushrooms, canned but drained artichoke, and some fresh spinach. I just dumped these veggies into the pot when the sauce was heating. Yummy! I'm so happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOE123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
great, except that the uncooked garlic was much too prominent. sautee the garlic first, then add to the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I used only 16 oz tofu pureed with garlic, basil, oregano, rosemary, parsley, salt, pepper, paprika, and sundried tomatoes. No soy milk or any other ingrediants. warmed it in a pan and tossed it on tortillini with chopped fresh spinach and sauted zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Really good recipe! I left out the dill but add carrot, peas and corn that had been sauteed in vegan butter and garlic. I added the veggies in right before the corn starch so they had a few minutes in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Excellent low fat alternative to cream sauce! I will be making this from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I LOVE CREAM SAUCE! i've been experimenting with how to do a vegan cream sauce for a few weeks, and this recipe is it! the tofu is a wonderful base! It can easily be spiced so follow any non-vegan recipe. You've just made my life better! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Dough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
YUM! i didn't have any tofu on hand, so i left it out and instead added extra nutritional yeast for creaminess (used half a cup as suggested by other reviewers.) I made way too much pasta and halfway through cooking i decided to cook up a second half batch, which was just enough for a whole box of pasta. I used whole wheat pasta which normally is a little dry and this sauce was really creamy and worked great with it. Because i left out the tofu we browned a pouch of boca crumbles for protein. i also used some left over veggies that i had; a mix of corn, peas, green beans and carrots. My boyfriend loved it, and so did i. with the boca crumbles it almost had a beef stroganoff flavour, something i haven't eaten in YEARS. Cannot wait to try it with mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Never use thyme in it. Gross. But other than that flavour it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States