Cream Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
The recipe is good, but one very important direction is missing. I have been making these pastry puffs for 30 years. Your eggs should be room temperature, and when you add the eggs one at a time, make sure you beat each egg in really, really good, until there is no slime, or until the batter is not shiny anymore. If you do these steps, your puffs will turn out everytime. I have tried the other way, and it results in flat puffs. I never added salt either, and still don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
A couple of things that may help with baking. Ovens are all different. Baking times of recipes are estimates, not exact times. Bake till done, it takes experience and patience to learn. Eggs come in different sizes. Large eggs are about 2 ounces per egg. If you use a different size egg you need to adjust for that. If you can invest in a scale, weighing ingredients is much more accurate. Baking is a science, the recipes are formulas. It is sometimes frustrating for those that love to cook, adding, tasting and creating as they go. Once baked, there's not much to change, but maybe cover it with chocolate:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Wonderful and easily done. I would add that the insides need to be pulled out before adding filling. It takes away the egg taste, Sprinkle the tops with icing sugar before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I filled mine with chicken salad. I followed the recipe and had no problem. I'm trying the tip from someone else to crack the oven and leave is so they don't sag! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Made these. We'll liked by all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This is the same recipe I have used for more than 50yrs ago and am still making them. They are great and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
SOOO happy! I never knew I could make delicious cream puffs at home! Only 4 stars - recipe is good, but I agree with others that the instructions are somewhat lacking. Follow MommyfromSeattle's instructions exactly and you will not be disappointed! Thank you for this easy, fun recipe! I'm going to make them again next week for Easter dinner! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I followed the directions exactly! All the eggs no extra cooling no hole poking. Worked perfectly. I didn't put any custard or pudding in mine, just fresh whipped cream. They lasted all of 10 min. YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
These were an easy and awesome snack. I took them to a dice get-together and they dissapeared fast. I look forward to making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 995) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States