Cream Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
If you read the other reviews, this is a great recipe. Also I made too much cream with the recipe, so either double the puffs, or half the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I filled half of the puffs with vanilla pudding and half with whipped cream. They were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Molin
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I made the custard using Pastry Cream recipe and then followed the video on how to make the cream puffs. Except after the first ten minutes at 425 degrees, I reduced the oven temperature to 350 and baked the pastry for another 20 minutes. Finally, following another recipe instructions, I turned the oven off but left the pastry in it with the door opened a crack until they were cool. I also had some leftover whipping cream which I whipped up with a bit of icing sugar and put on top of the cream. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Molin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
After reducing 1 egg and making a toothpick hole after the puffs baking for 20 minutes, I found this recipe to be quite delightful with the pastry cream/filling recipe (also on allrecipes). Thanks for the recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Hashmi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
IT IS ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS. I'VE BEEN LOOKING FOR ONE FOR YEARS. THIS ONE IS JUST LIKE THE ONE MY AUNT USED TO MAKE. THE ONLY PROBLEM I HAVE THE FILLING SEEEMS TO BE A LITTLE THICK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Scheller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Perfect every time. My mom gave me a tip- put them in the oven as quickly as possible so that they puff and stay puffed. I also just leave em in there to cool off before I pull them out. I don't poke them with a toothpick or anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Omg I'm definitely in love! I did my due diligence on the art of making cream puffs and this was definitely the simplest and most satisfying recipe. Cooking is all about configuring and tweaking recipes to make it your own, which is exactly what I did. I added a dust of powdered sugar to the top, and used some bits of strawberry and banana in some of my cream giving it a refreshing fruity delight. It reminds me of a small pastry shop in San Francisco that I use to visit all the time to have late night coffee and puff pastries. When I took my first bite it took me back there and that's what good home cookings all about. It uses very few simple and cheap ingredients and it makes the most divine cream puffs. I followed the directions directly and half way through cooking process poked a small fork into the pastries as they were baking.(25 mins till golden) The whip cream recipe was perfect and needed no extra configuration, besides adding my simple toppings. I also dusted powdered sugar on top. Would also be good if I added nutella spread just on the bottom of the cream puffs or some chocolate drizzled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JCook
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I always thought cream puffs were difficult to make but seriously was soo easy! It's just getting the consultancy if the batter right and having a steady hand when piping the batter on the tray (otherwise they bake odd shapes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
The cream is amazing but my puffs didn't puff. I put my extra cream on some angel food cup cakes and they were amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Very easy to make and very good. After trying the original recipe, I found the following changes to make this even better. The results taste like a Boston crème donut. 1. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and added 1 tbsp. Of sugar and 2 teaspoon of vanilla to batter. I used a large cookie scoop (about 2 tbsp.) to put onto cookie sheets lined with parchment paper. 2. I did use the toothpick to poke a hole after they came out of the oven. 3. I used 3 cups of light cream instead of 2 cups heavy and 1 cup regular milk. 4. I added 1/4 cup or so (didn't measure) of Disarrano Amaretto to the pudding mix at the same time as I added the milk. 5. I melted Ghirardelli dark chocolate melting wafers and then drizzled the chocolate over the top. They came out looking like something from the bakery. Thanks the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,011) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States