Cream Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Fantastic results. I used chocolate pudding and grandkids loved them. Also used the review from MommyFromSeattle and it made it even easier to make. Going to try the vanilla pudding next and use almond extract that Mandy told us about and maybe a little touch of sugar in the puff for just a hint of sweetness. Small ice cream scoop also works to keep even portions. Just love all the reviews. I can pick and choose which ones I want to try. Makes baking treats an adventure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sumrall, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This recipe is the same as my mom's, and I have had it for years. I used to make them all the time, and then suddenly had difficulty with the puffs flopping after they are taken out of the oven. After reading many reviews, and checking with my niece's mema since my mom long ago passed away, I lowered the oven temp and cooked them at a steady 400 for 30 minutes, (mema said 45 minutes, but I thought that was WAY too long) and then poked them with a toothpick to let the steam escape. They cooled on a rack, and then I left them overnight to be filled prior to serving. Thankfully, and finally, my puffs stayed puffed. Made the filling the morning before serving so it was sufficiently chilled. Everyone loved them, and now I feel much more confident to make them more often without flopping! Glad that I can use this old time family favorite again! Thanks for all the helpful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I read the reviews and actually didn't need to puncture the puffs. May be an oven dependent hint-- but I was grateful for the help. For the filling though I used one package of vanilla pudding and made one package of dark chocolate. I used only 2 cups of heavy whipping cream for filling per flavor. Holy Wow.... Couldn't decide which ones we loved most. I didn't pipe filling, just made slit and filled--- they puffed up beautifully. I did have to scratch first batch because I didn't "ball" the flour in the saucepan with water and butter first. No shortcuts !! Elegant and wonderful dessert without a lot of work. Made everything day before. Dust with powdered sugar or drizzle with chocolate sauce. Think I will drizzle the dark chocolate fillings with raspberry sauce next time. This will be my go-to dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
can this get any simpler? so few ingredients, even fewer steps, and barely any clean up. after 22 minutes my puffs looked perfect, but i was afraid they might sag due to other reviews, so i just poked a hole with a toothpick. super simple and look amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This review is for the "puff" part of the cream puff. For the filling, I made my own stabilized whipped cream using unflavored gelatin to fill them. This is a great, easy, fool-proof recipe! They have that wonderful (slightly eggy/chewy) cream puff texture and are the perfect vehicle to get that whipped cream into your belly. I don't recall exactly how many this made, but it was nowhere near the 25 that the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
When i made this recipe everything went great, so easy. Accept there was one slight problem. When it calls for salt, it is way to much, so i say add less salt and BAM it's amazing. So just that, trust me and they will be amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I made these pastry cream puffs ..... Super easy! Super YUMMY! They were a hit with my neighborhood! I had all the kids at my door wanting a cream puff! Gonna make them for my church members this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Very simple,nothing to it!! I wasnt impressed with your choice of filling though,I ended up following a french pastry cream recipe instead that tastes much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
It my first time making the cream puffs and oh my do i love this, it taste just like the first cream puffs i had when i was young.. I'm in heaven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 985) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States