Cream Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Ok, I have made this recipe 3 times and followed the review to boil the water and finish everything in the mixer. Every time they do NOT rise but stay flat. I wondered if the water should have been cooler before blending. I will make again but go back to hand mixing with a wooden spoon. I did not want to waste these flat disk so I put them in a cake pan flat and covered this with the pudding mixture and put bananas and then a chocolate glaze and maraschino cherries to make a banana split dessert. . It was a good save but will go back to my traditional way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Agree, remember to poke a hole when they come out of the oven to let the steam out. Otherwise I followed the pastry recipe and it was good. I lightened up the recipe though by using sugar free pudding, 2% milk and fat free cool whip to make the filling lighter. They hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I made a double batch to take to a potluck and they disappeared first from the dessert table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schwabengirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Excellent. Made a double batch of puffs, using the same amount as above for the filling but added 1/2 container Cool Whip. I only had 1 box of vanilla instant pudding so added 1 box of instant Cheesecake pudding mix as well. Just enough cheesecake flavor still retaining the lovely creamy textures and flavors. When I took the puffs out of the oven, I poked a small hole with a wooden skewer to let the steam escape and returned them to the oven, with the door open so they would dry out a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dougandchas
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I was absolutely amazed at how easy this was and thought for sure I better have a back up dessert! It turned out PERFECTLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yaya
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Yummy!!! Came out perfect my first time! I did add a dab of vanilla & about 1tbsp sugar to the batter. Baked 20min then (after reading reviews) poked a hole with a toothpick, turned off the oven & let them sit in there with the door open for another 10-15min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This recipe was very simple to follow and they came out fabulous! I took some advice from another reviewer and baked them for exactly 20 minutes and when out of the oven I poked them with a tooth pick to let out the steam. Did not let them rest in the oven as the recipe calls for. The puffs received rave reviews from my guests. This will be a go to dessert for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Great recipe! I added some canned blueberry and cherry pie filling to some of them and everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whidbey Island
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I said I'd update this. I added about 3 times more flour than the recipe called for. I used all-purpose flour. I even went so far as to check to make sure I had used a one-cup measure. It had flour in it, so I know I did. This time, they rose a little more, but were misshapen. The tops never browned but the bottoms did. Last time, both the tops and bottoms browned. They were hard and dense. I cut one open and it was gooey inside. I have made eclairs before and they turned out great. Extremely frustrated because I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whidbey Island

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Flavor was great. Cream filling excellent and the texture of the puffs were great. I loved them and I will definitely be making again....why the 3 star rating, I took other reviewers advice and poked holes into the sides of the puffs 2 minutes before they were done with wooden skewers and they did not deflate. Out of curiosity I left one puff alone with no holes and it deflated. That was my only casualty but don't worry it did not get wasted, one must test before serving to make sure they are really good lol. The writer should include those instructions which is why I only gave 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,012) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States