Cream Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Great baker but this didn't come out whatsoever. Flat and bland tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Not that it needs another rating, but YUM! Fantastic fresh flavor, with the addition of a splash of vanilla. We didn't use parchment paper and they still turned out fine at 21 minutes. Keep the batter balls small - they puff up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This was my 1st attempt at making cream puffs. They turned out great. I LOVED the filling. I took the suggestion of another viewer and poked a hole in the top 3 min before they were done, also put mini ch chips in the filling although it would have been heavenly without them. I was hoping they would be a little hard on top and a little sweeter. Just saw a review where they should be 'dried out'. I'll do that next time. Another viewer said to use a TBLS of sugar and 2 tsp of vanilla. I used the sugar and forgot the vanilla. I think the vanilla would have helped. Either way, everyone still LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
First batch, not so pretty. Not really sure what went wrong there,lol. But the following batched baked up hollow and golden, as expected. I only gave it 4 stars because I just wasn't impressed with the flavor, or lack there of I should say. Perhaps since I'm not really a pastry person my expectations were off. But my friend I was baking them with seemed quite happy with them. Biggest complaint is that you can only bake on one rack at a time because otherwise they don't puff up. So you are turning the oven to 425 for 10 minutes, then down to 350 for 20-25, then off for 10. Repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I loved this recipe the only thing that the original didn't say to do but is very important is to let the dough cool and rest for 20mins before adding the eggs, I also pull out the gooey stuff from the pastry before filling it to cut the egg flavor and maximize the filling room. Also for the chocolate lovers in my family I used chocolate pudding It was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
These were PERFECT. Just like Mom's when I was growing up. I had no idea they were so easy! I'll be using this recipe over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I truly loved these puffs. I used w's suggestions of 3 eggs, 2 tsp vanilla and 1 TBsp sugar in the dough. I made sure to beat air into the dough and poke a whole after 15 minutes in the other. After 20 they were absolutely perfect and flaky. I tried something new though. I cooked them in a mini muffin pan of 24. They cooked up perfectly, I thought it was a good way to let them rise. Topped some strawberries on these bad boys and they were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I made these with a friend and they were AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I'm just getting around to reviewing this, made this weeks ago...in fact, made 4 batches! I didn't realize how easy it was to make cream puffs. Only thing I did was for the filling, I halved it, and made 1 batch of chocolate, and 1 batch of vanilla. Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
OMG So good, and soooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,004) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States