Cream Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I made this for my husband as a valentines and birthday dessert he loved them, he gave some to my in-laws and my two girls everyone loved them.I drizzled the top with melted chocolate and served with rose shape cut strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof2grl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This cream puff recipe was a Hit at our last work party! I also am making it again for 25 of our family members, for a 70th birthday party! *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kriter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
If I could give it more stars, I would. Made these last night. They came puufy out of oven. Did follow advise of others and let cool in oven. They were perfect! Halved the cream mixture and put almond extract in one and lemon extract in the other. We injected the mixture inside, melted chocolate and drizzled on top. They are EXCELLENT! Thank you, Shellie. I will make these over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanalZoneGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This is the typical pate a choux which works out very well. The filling, although quick and easy, was too heavy and the taste of the heavy cream was dominant. I would cut way back on the heavy cream the next time so I’d taste more of the vanilla custard flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I made this last night and they were AMAZING! I followed the instruction exactly but did add a dash of vanilla. Also I took everyone suggestions i.e. poking a hole with a toothpick and leaving in shut off/open oven for an hour. I am not sure if it was needed but I didn't want to take a chance and let me tell you they looked as if they should be on the cover of a magazine. They tasted even better. Here is my suggestion: I chose not to use the filling (but I am thinking I might next time) I use Ice Cream and hot fudge. OMG So good! Also don't put un-used puffs in an air tight container. I did and the once crispy puffs turned into a soggy mess. I think it might be becasue they were a tad warm still but tonight when I make them for the family again I am NOT putting them in anything air tight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I LOVE making cream puffs and this recipe is perfect, although I would recommend eliminating the salt if you use salted butter. After years of making do with collapsing, eggy puffs (still loved them), I came across the cure: Bake puffs for 20 min at 450, then reduce the heat to 350 and cook for 5 min; reduce heat again to 250 and cook another 5 min; then turn the oven off and let cook another 10 minutes. I promise this works and it's not nearly as tedious as it sounds. If you're making small puffs (24-30 from this recipe), cook at 450 for only 15 minutes--the rest is the same, no matter what size. BTW, you can add all those eggs in at once as long as you do it quickly and have that hand mixer already going. As long as you beat the mixture until it's thick and glossy, you'll be fine. Trust me - I just did 200 for my niece's wedding reception to stuff with chicken salad and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This would be five star if instructions were better and a few ingredients added. For puffs, add a Tablespoon or two of sugar and 1 to 2 teaspoon vanilla extract to batter. When puffs are done baking, poke a small hole in the side of the puff (to allow steam to escape preventing the puff from collapsing and becoming mushy) and place back in oven (heat turned off) for another 15 minutes. For the filling, if you use vanilla pudding, it is heavenly to add a teaspoon of almond extract for a truly gourmet taste! Make sure puffs are completely cool before filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Always a hit! This a great easy recipe with lots of applause........something different and everyone loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Great baker but this didn't come out whatsoever. Flat and bland tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Not that it needs another rating, but YUM! Fantastic fresh flavor, with the addition of a splash of vanilla. We didn't use parchment paper and they still turned out fine at 21 minutes. Keep the batter balls small - they puff up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,001) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States