Cream Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
After making this recipe 2 times and it was a flop, tasted good but the shells were terribly floppy, I found out that you have to keep the water, butter, flour mixture over the heat til it forms a nice dough ball. if you don't it will turn into a liquidity mixture, I recommend watching the video to see what the consistency should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I usually read reviews before i make a recipe on here, but this time I just followed the recipe exactly, and they came out PERFECT! I baked mine for about 22 minutes on the top rack and they were perfect. No soggy shells here. I put the filling in a ziplock bag and snipped a corner off, then delicately cut the tops off my shells, the insides are soft enough to just squeeze the filling right in, replace the tops and I drizzle some melted cocolate on top. As far as adding the eggs, i took the batter from the pot to a separate bowl like it said, I used a wooden spoon like it suggested, and I added one egg at a time. At 1st it makes the batter act strange and separate, but keep mixing, it gets a little drier and elastic like. I did not wait for anything to cool before adding my eggs, and they did not cook like some said happened to them. My family loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I tried this recipe twice, good and all, but someone help! They come out fine, I poke a hole, but they always go flat! what am I doing wrong? And I bake them for 25 min, and they still aren't done. They look great in the oven, and right when I pull them out, but then they go flat, and they are gooey inside. What am I doing wrong? Can anybody help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I made this and my husband said they were the best cream puffs he's ever had. I was surprised how easy they were to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Excellent recipe thank-you. However you did forget to mention the oven temperature,so had to look it up...nevermind though because the cream puffs where super! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Very easy did not change a thing in this recipe other then food coloring! I add diffrent color cream for diffrent holidays. My husbad can not stop eating them. I have to be on guard with a wooden spoon. :) Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I like this recipe very much, have tried it many times. It's fairly easy to follow, and does not require much brain work. It turned out great every time I tried it. For those who have a problem with the puffs "rising", I once made a mistake and used oil on baking sheets. The puffs ended up frying to the paper, very soggy and didn't bake through. Also the key to getting them right is not to open the oven until they are ready. The air tends to escape and they fall. Otherwise I cannot imagine any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Fantastic results. I used chocolate pudding and grandkids loved them. Also used the review from MommyFromSeattle and it made it even easier to make. Going to try the vanilla pudding next and use almond extract that Mandy told us about and maybe a little touch of sugar in the puff for just a hint of sweetness. Small ice cream scoop also works to keep even portions. Just love all the reviews. I can pick and choose which ones I want to try. Makes baking treats an adventure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sumrall, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This recipe is the same as my mom's, and I have had it for years. I used to make them all the time, and then suddenly had difficulty with the puffs flopping after they are taken out of the oven. After reading many reviews, and checking with my niece's mema since my mom long ago passed away, I lowered the oven temp and cooked them at a steady 400 for 30 minutes, (mema said 45 minutes, but I thought that was WAY too long) and then poked them with a toothpick to let the steam escape. They cooled on a rack, and then I left them overnight to be filled prior to serving. Thankfully, and finally, my puffs stayed puffed. Made the filling the morning before serving so it was sufficiently chilled. Everyone loved them, and now I feel much more confident to make them more often without flopping! Glad that I can use this old time family favorite again! Thanks for all the helpful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I read the reviews and actually didn't need to puncture the puffs. May be an oven dependent hint-- but I was grateful for the help. For the filling though I used one package of vanilla pudding and made one package of dark chocolate. I used only 2 cups of heavy whipping cream for filling per flavor. Holy Wow.... Couldn't decide which ones we loved most. I didn't pipe filling, just made slit and filled--- they puffed up beautifully. I did have to scratch first batch because I didn't "ball" the flour in the saucepan with water and butter first. No shortcuts !! Elegant and wonderful dessert without a lot of work. Made everything day before. Dust with powdered sugar or drizzle with chocolate sauce. Think I will drizzle the dark chocolate fillings with raspberry sauce next time. This will be my go-to dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,022) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States