Cream Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
they melted in my mouth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
These were unbelievable!! Yes, there needs to be more detailed instructions, but they were far easier than I expected. I used an italian Pastry cream filling recipe for the inside, but they were very easy to pipe in and I couldn't believe how easy it was to make! Make sure to pop holes in the sides 5 minutes before the end of baking!! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This recipe is perfect as is. What you fill it with is up to you, but the puff recipe itself is perfect. I have no idea what others who made changes to the puff had in mind, but they are not true Choux pastry. I have made them a dozen times now with no problems. The instructions are perfect as it is a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Limoges, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I made this for my husband as a valentines and birthday dessert he loved them, he gave some to my in-laws and my two girls everyone loved them.I drizzled the top with melted chocolate and served with rose shape cut strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof2grl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This cream puff recipe was a Hit at our last work party! I also am making it again for 25 of our family members, for a 70th birthday party! *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kriter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
If I could give it more stars, I would. Made these last night. They came puufy out of oven. Did follow advise of others and let cool in oven. They were perfect! Halved the cream mixture and put almond extract in one and lemon extract in the other. We injected the mixture inside, melted chocolate and drizzled on top. They are EXCELLENT! Thank you, Shellie. I will make these over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanalZoneGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This is the typical pate a choux which works out very well. The filling, although quick and easy, was too heavy and the taste of the heavy cream was dominant. I would cut way back on the heavy cream the next time so I’d taste more of the vanilla custard flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I made this last night and they were AMAZING! I followed the instruction exactly but did add a dash of vanilla. Also I took everyone suggestions i.e. poking a hole with a toothpick and leaving in shut off/open oven for an hour. I am not sure if it was needed but I didn't want to take a chance and let me tell you they looked as if they should be on the cover of a magazine. They tasted even better. Here is my suggestion: I chose not to use the filling (but I am thinking I might next time) I use Ice Cream and hot fudge. OMG So good! Also don't put un-used puffs in an air tight container. I did and the once crispy puffs turned into a soggy mess. I think it might be becasue they were a tad warm still but tonight when I make them for the family again I am NOT putting them in anything air tight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I LOVE making cream puffs and this recipe is perfect, although I would recommend eliminating the salt if you use salted butter. After years of making do with collapsing, eggy puffs (still loved them), I came across the cure: Bake puffs for 20 min at 450, then reduce the heat to 350 and cook for 5 min; reduce heat again to 250 and cook another 5 min; then turn the oven off and let cook another 10 minutes. I promise this works and it's not nearly as tedious as it sounds. If you're making small puffs (24-30 from this recipe), cook at 450 for only 15 minutes--the rest is the same, no matter what size. BTW, you can add all those eggs in at once as long as you do it quickly and have that hand mixer already going. As long as you beat the mixture until it's thick and glossy, you'll be fine. Trust me - I just did 200 for my niece's wedding reception to stuff with chicken salad and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This would be five star if instructions were better and a few ingredients added. For puffs, add a Tablespoon or two of sugar and 1 to 2 teaspoon vanilla extract to batter. When puffs are done baking, poke a small hole in the side of the puff (to allow steam to escape preventing the puff from collapsing and becoming mushy) and place back in oven (heat turned off) for another 15 minutes. For the filling, if you use vanilla pudding, it is heavenly to add a teaspoon of almond extract for a truly gourmet taste! Make sure puffs are completely cool before filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 985) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States