Cream Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This cream puff recipe was a Hit at our last work party! I also am making it again for 25 of our family members, for a 70th birthday party! *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kriter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
If I could give it more stars, I would. Made these last night. They came puufy out of oven. Did follow advise of others and let cool in oven. They were perfect! Halved the cream mixture and put almond extract in one and lemon extract in the other. We injected the mixture inside, melted chocolate and drizzled on top. They are EXCELLENT! Thank you, Shellie. I will make these over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanalZoneGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This is the typical pate a choux which works out very well. The filling, although quick and easy, was too heavy and the taste of the heavy cream was dominant. I would cut way back on the heavy cream the next time so I’d taste more of the vanilla custard flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I made this last night and they were AMAZING! I followed the instruction exactly but did add a dash of vanilla. Also I took everyone suggestions i.e. poking a hole with a toothpick and leaving in shut off/open oven for an hour. I am not sure if it was needed but I didn't want to take a chance and let me tell you they looked as if they should be on the cover of a magazine. They tasted even better. Here is my suggestion: I chose not to use the filling (but I am thinking I might next time) I use Ice Cream and hot fudge. OMG So good! Also don't put un-used puffs in an air tight container. I did and the once crispy puffs turned into a soggy mess. I think it might be becasue they were a tad warm still but tonight when I make them for the family again I am NOT putting them in anything air tight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I LOVE making cream puffs and this recipe is perfect, although I would recommend eliminating the salt if you use salted butter. After years of making do with collapsing, eggy puffs (still loved them), I came across the cure: Bake puffs for 20 min at 450, then reduce the heat to 350 and cook for 5 min; reduce heat again to 250 and cook another 5 min; then turn the oven off and let cook another 10 minutes. I promise this works and it's not nearly as tedious as it sounds. If you're making small puffs (24-30 from this recipe), cook at 450 for only 15 minutes--the rest is the same, no matter what size. BTW, you can add all those eggs in at once as long as you do it quickly and have that hand mixer already going. As long as you beat the mixture until it's thick and glossy, you'll be fine. Trust me - I just did 200 for my niece's wedding reception to stuff with chicken salad and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This would be five star if instructions were better and a few ingredients added. For puffs, add a Tablespoon or two of sugar and 1 to 2 teaspoon vanilla extract to batter. When puffs are done baking, poke a small hole in the side of the puff (to allow steam to escape preventing the puff from collapsing and becoming mushy) and place back in oven (heat turned off) for another 15 minutes. For the filling, if you use vanilla pudding, it is heavenly to add a teaspoon of almond extract for a truly gourmet taste! Make sure puffs are completely cool before filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Always a hit! This a great easy recipe with lots of applause........something different and everyone loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Great baker but this didn't come out whatsoever. Flat and bland tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Not that it needs another rating, but YUM! Fantastic fresh flavor, with the addition of a splash of vanilla. We didn't use parchment paper and they still turned out fine at 21 minutes. Keep the batter balls small - they puff up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This was my 1st attempt at making cream puffs. They turned out great. I LOVED the filling. I took the suggestion of another viewer and poked a hole in the top 3 min before they were done, also put mini ch chips in the filling although it would have been heavenly without them. I was hoping they would be a little hard on top and a little sweeter. Just saw a review where they should be 'dried out'. I'll do that next time. Another viewer said to use a TBLS of sugar and 2 tsp of vanilla. I used the sugar and forgot the vanilla. I think the vanilla would have helped. Either way, everyone still LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 971) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Whipped Cream

Top your favorite desserts with rich whipped cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States