Cream Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This looks amazing but I have always found that cream puffs are hard to make. I am not really a chef, though. I am just starting to cook. Please tell me if you have a super easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This recipe is amazing! However, If you do not do it right, you will waste a lot of time and money, so follow these instructions EXACTLY: 1)Make sure measurements are EXACT. Too much or little of one ingredient will make the cream puffs too doughy or runny, and the cream puffs will not puff! 2)You MUST bring the water and butter mixture to a boil. Otherwise, the starch in the flour will not swell. You will end up with hard, flat bread. 3)Mix the flour in IMMEDIATELY after the water and butter boil, on the stovetop over low heat. This is important for reason in 2). 4)Let the dough cool until it is warm. If it is too hot, the eggs will cook. When it is warm, and the eggs in one a time, and stir. 5)You MUST stir the dough thoroughly (5 minutes). I used a whisk to beat the dough mixture. The dough needs to become have air dissolved in it, so mix it throughly to incorporate as much air as possible. The dough should be elasticy. 6)Put the cream puffs on the bottom of the rack! The heat from the bottom of the oven will cause the cream puffs to rise. The temperature of the oven MUST be a hot 425 so that the cream puffs rise quickly!! 7)NEVER open the oven to check on the status of the cream puffs. This will lower the oven temperature, and the creams puffs WILL NOT puff up. 8)AFTER the cream puffs have puffed up, slit a hole in them with a sharp knife or toothpick, so it can dry out. Cook until inside is dry. 9)Add 2 tsp vanilla and 1 TBSP sugar to cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
So very good! Made the recipe 3 times in a week and it came out amazing every time. The only thing I might recommend changing is: dropping a heaping teaspoon of the dough instead of a tablespoon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Excellent recipe! Super easy to make and my guests can never get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cherie
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
to die for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
this recipe was AMAZING!! I loved the cream puffs and couldnt have asked for more. I ate my cream puff with a small drizzle of chocolate, powdered sugar, and a raspberry on top. I also had one with chocolate drizzle, only it was frozen!! Delicious either way. Also, i think banana cream or custard makes a better, thicker, middle. If you stick with vanilla pudding, add an additional 1/4 tsp of vanilla extract and a pinch of cinnamon for a better/stronger flavor. Anyways...great recipe!! It was very easy and I strongly recommend it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Willie
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is close to an old family recipe that we have been making for years. To make the cream puffs the same size, I used a pipe bag for the dough and used a 24 mini-muffin tray. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Willie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ym1022
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
After putting the dough onto the baking pans,brush egg whites on the surface. you will have shiny store bought like puffs :) My suggestion is that after putting flour in a pan,mix it till you start seeing a thin layer of film like coating side of the pan even the dough shapes a ball. Mine used to not puff it up enough when I didn't mix enough in this process. ( I made a swan with whip cream & butterscotch pudding)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ym1022

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Overall this was so bad. The cream was amazing but the puffs did not puff. They were burn't on the bottom but raw in the middle. I followed the whole recipe exactly and do not know what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
this is a really easy recipe for a beginner! just make sure to let the puff pastry cool down and keep the custard in the refrigerator until you fill the puff pastry in! best of luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 996) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States