Cream Puffs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
A Super easy recipe! I make this all the time because its so quick and easy and everyone just loves them! I don't add the chocolate because I'm not huge chocolate fan. So much better with whipping cream than those other cream puffs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This recipe was easy to follow and I listened to the reviews and waited about ten minutes before adding the eggs. I actually removed the dough from the pot, and put it into the bowl of a stand mixer and beat it for about 5-10 minutes, than gradually added the eggs. They were light and fluffy. The only thing... they needed sugar in the dough. I found it odd when I was making it that it didn't have any sugar, even with the powdered sugar on top, it wasn't enough. I added about two tablespoons to the dough but it wasn't enough. I will make these again because my family ate them up, but they all agreed needed more sugar. I didn't make the filling from this recipe, I made a mix of mascarpone whipped cream that I thought of out of my head and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I was bored today, so I thought I'd try this recipe. The shells are fine, despite my forgetting to lower the heat. But the filling...... I tasted the first puff I filled, And found out the filling tasted like whipped milk! I had to add a bunch of vanilla and a bit of salt to give any flavor at all, and they still tast sorta off
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Just made 3 batches for Thanksgiving and they turned out awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
IT was my first attempt making these and they turned out AWESUM! thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I was beating my head against the wall, my shells kept falling do not know why, then I used only 3 large eggs and now every time the shells puff up. I think 4 eggs are too much liquid for the shells. once I got my formula right they work every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
These were very good. Would have gotten 5 stars except the cream could have been a bit sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
These were surprisingly easy to make, yet they look very impressive. I melted the butter in a sauce pan before adding the water, so that they boil together and none of the water evaporates off and messes up the proportions. I recommend whisking all the eggs in a bowl beforehand, and adding them all at once while beating the mixture with a hand blender. The fast beating will keep the eggs from scrambling. You'll know when the dough is sufficiently mixed when it becomes smooth and elastic -- it started "climbing" up my beaters. To make them pretty, I piped them out using a pastry bag with a star tip; mine were probably closer to 2 TBSP. The recommended cook times and temperatures are spot-on, but I didn't cut mine in half till the end. They puff up beautifully and there is really not enough soft dough in the centers to worry about scooping out. To the heavy cream I just added about 1/3 cup confectioner's sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, and a pinch of cream of tartar to help keep it nice and stiff. Really delicious and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I only rated 3 stars because I made some changes to make them Gluten free. I used an all purpose GF flour blend. I ended up making these too large. They turned out the size of a small fist. They had a decent taste, and froze very well. It was nice to not have to miss out on an old favorite now that I have dietary restrictions. Next time I will make them a little smaller and will change the GF flour up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
For whatever reason, the cream never came out to thick enough to put on the cream puffs--it was always runny and I attempted to make the cream filling 3 different times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States