Cream Puffs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jeannie O.
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I ran thru all the cream puff recipes here and found that they are all the same. What makes or breaks the puff pastry is the way you make them. I use a turbo roaster for baking and I find that the puffs would stay in shape better if I bake them at 450F for the first 20 mins, then 350 for the next 5 mins, then 250 for the last 5 mins. This way the puffs are cooked inside (it taste less eggy, if the insides aren't cooked they look and taste like scrambled eggs). As for those who said that their pastry didn't puff, i think you better check the temp, lower temp won't help the pastry puff, it also causes you're dough to be soaked in butter (deep fried dough as my brother called it)as i've experienced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davao City, Davao, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
I only used the filling from this recipe and it was perfect! An old-fashioned custard flavor. I used the recipe for the shells from Shellie Wendel's Cream Puff entry and the end result flew off the serving tray. Wonderful cream puffs just like my mother used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
I HAVE MADE ANOTHER VERSION BEFORE THAT TURNED OUT GREAT HOWEVER WITH THIS ONE THE CREAM PUFFS DID NOT HOLLOW OUT WHEN THEY BAKED. THEY JUST STAYED DENSE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This was the easiest recipe I have tried in along time. These were delicioso!!! Could not stop eating them. The cream is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
these were so yummy, although I didn't like the custard recipe. So, i just replaced it with a boxed pudding and used that as a filling. Came out well, but 25 mins. at 400 degrees was too long, about 20 mins should be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
This is a great recipe, but will sure wear ya arms out mixing!!! I found these cream puffs to be the perfect. However, I think next time I will pipe them out. They rose perfectly, and was NOT to moist or to dry or flaky. This is the best recipe for cream puffs I've tried in a long time. I can not comment on the custard filling as I used a cream filling, but will surely try the custard filling next time with these cream puffs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
Easy and delicious. My friends keep telling me they loved my cream puffs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Excellent recipe - the best cream puffs I've ever made. I followed one reviewers advice and cooked for 20 minutes at 450 degrees, then for 5 minutes at 350 degrees, and then for 5 minutes at 250 degrees - they came out perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
The pastry didn't have much flavor :(, need to sweeten it up a bit. That filling is good though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
Wonderfully easy and absolutely delicious! Everybody raves about these creampuffs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States