Cream Puffs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
These were terrible! They didn't "puff" at all, and they were SO high in fat that I wound up draining melted shortening off the baking sheet when they were done cooking! (total for 1 1/2 recipe: about 1/3 c melted shortening!) They tasted all right if you dipped them in the lemon curd I made to go with them (istead of filling them). The custard part never set up and it didn't taste all that great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
It was easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
As I'm already very happy with another shell recipe, I tried making the custard from this recipe to fill my puff shells. The problem with this custard recipe is that the custard came out too sweet and stiff. I'd probably reduce the amount of sugar the next time I try this; otherwise I'll look for another custard recipe to try out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I really didn't like these. Maybe I did something wrong or whatever but they were pretty bad. The puffs didn't hollow out when cooked and I didn't care for the filling. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Excellent! Everyone loves them. I changed the recipe a little by adding more vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
I like the pastry but the filling was not that great.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
OH MY GOODNESS!!! VERY impressive recipe! I've made this several times, I did make one minor addition, we mixed up some instant vanilla pudding and put a few tablespoons of that in the custard, and then put it in the puffs. Just a little kick to it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
I made these cream puffs for the 4th of July and they were gone in no time. The filling is absolutely delicious and the puffs were very good. Very easy to make. I was asked for the recipe several times that day. The puffs come out so golden. I will be making these again this week for friends coming over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Norwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
The pastry didn't have much flavor :(, need to sweeten it up a bit. That filling is good though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
Thank you so much. This recipe allows me to eat and make whenever I want! I also would like to say my family adores them. They are cheaper and better then store bought puffs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States