Cream Puffs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Easy to make and very tasty. I used them for finger sandwitches. Not all of mine puffed not sure what I did wrong. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
The pastry. I always use butter, not shortening. (thats why I gave it 4 stars) The custard is great, basic, old fashioned filling for the puffs, like people used to make that way years ago. When the custard is ready I add 1/2 cup of cooked sweetened condensed milk (boil a can for 2 hrs) and 1/2 cup of lemon pie filling. You may add other flavors or creams. For example, add coffee instead of lemon cream. Play with it and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Puff pastry was surprisingly easy and same out great, But the custard was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattswife1123

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GHOST_BJR
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Made this recipe at my job at the University of st.thomas. I quadrupled the recipe, and thoughout the week the residents personally came over and asked if they could see that this recipe is baked more often! I also baked this for my co-workers at a perkins and they were gone just like that! A FAVORITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GHOST_BJR

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunshinEquine
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This recipe gets ten stars!!!! I have made this recipe several times and each time they come out better. Although I am surprised by some of the reviews about the puffs. Mine always rise and they arent fully hollow in the middle but I think that makes them even better. I use whole wheat pastry flour for both the custard and the puffs maybe that has something to do with it. If you dont like the grainy-ness of the whole wheat pastry flour give it a sift and you lose some of that texture!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshinEquine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This was my first time, and they came out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Love the custard inside!!! The outside shells did not come out as nice and puffy as shellie wendel's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I tried this recipe for the shells because I was out of butter and couldn't make my usual ones. I don't know what happened, but I did not care for this recipe. The did not rise or even cook through after being in the oven 20 minutes longer than called for. They were very greasy as well. Sorry for such a low rating. If this was my first time making the puffs, I would have thought I did something wrong, but I followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I tried this recipe--and the puffs turned out great---instead of beating by hand I used the electric mixer--I also added dill to flour mixture--going to use crabmeat salad for the filling. I baked them for 20 minutes at 450 then 400 for 10 minutes, 5 minutes at 350 and last 10 minutes at 250--they were so light I could not believe it--I was always scared the puffs would fall(my first ones years ago did and tasted !!!) but this time they were perfect--I will certainly do this again--a regular soup spoon makes them too big (for what I needed) but a heaping teaspoon was just the right size. I used spoons that are for the table not measuring spoons--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Didn't like it. It's a custard fill not a cream fill, so it needs to be called a custard puff instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni Pratt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mason, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States