Cream Puffs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
The cream puffs were excellent, and I was amazed at how easy they were to make. I didn't like the filling. Not that it wasn't good, it just wasn't the type of filling I like on cream puffs. It was more like what you would find in a long john or bismark. It tasted good, though, and if you like that kind of filling, you will love this. I will keep trying to find a filling I like, to go with these excellent cream puffs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGONFLYLADY13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Sedgwick, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This was the best recipe EVER! The custard alone is like HEAVEN, and with the puffs, like heaven times 5! Six stars! (even though it's not an option.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
everything went well. the taste is why it gets 4 instead of 5 stars. the pastry itself wasn't all that good..it was plain. with the filling it tasted better. the filling wasn't "to die for" either. i think i'd rather put vanilla pudding or something..something from those jello cups. i had to add extra sugar in it. it still didn't turn out that good. the texture of everything was great! overall it's pretty good. i'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This was the easiest recipe I have tried in along time. These were delicioso!!! Could not stop eating them. The cream is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina Gamboa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
it was awesome.here in turkey we also make the same recipe but we top with chocolate souce.yummy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
This recipe took me back to my childhood and my Aunt Donna. Everytime I went to visit her in Michigan she made these for me. I love to cook, but my wife does most of the baking. These were easy and they turned out perfect! I added a bit more vanila and put whipped cream on top of the custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
These cream puffs are good and easy to make but the cream could be better. It's a fairly standard custard but I find that you can taste the flour and it a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeannie O.
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I ran thru all the cream puff recipes here and found that they are all the same. What makes or breaks the puff pastry is the way you make them. I use a turbo roaster for baking and I find that the puffs would stay in shape better if I bake them at 450F for the first 20 mins, then 350 for the next 5 mins, then 250 for the last 5 mins. This way the puffs are cooked inside (it taste less eggy, if the insides aren't cooked they look and taste like scrambled eggs). As for those who said that their pastry didn't puff, i think you better check the temp, lower temp won't help the pastry puff, it also causes you're dough to be soaked in butter (deep fried dough as my brother called it)as i've experienced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davao City, Davao, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
These were terrible! They didn't "puff" at all, and they were SO high in fat that I wound up draining melted shortening off the baking sheet when they were done cooking! (total for 1 1/2 recipe: about 1/3 c melted shortening!) They tasted all right if you dipped them in the lemon curd I made to go with them (istead of filling them). The custard part never set up and it didn't taste all that great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Nichol Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
It was easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States