Cream Puffs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Fantastic Recipe and so easy, I didn't use the custard though. Instead i mixed Cool Whip, a package of lemon Pudding mix and a brick of cream cheese together for the filling and then i topped them with a raspberry each and then sprinkled with icing sugar! They tasted fantastic and looked good too! I wish i had taken a picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerD2316

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
YUM! I used half a vanilla bean instead of vanilla extract. So pretty with the little vanilla seeds and makes it even more special with your guests knowing tha tyou splurged on the vanillla bean pods. Its VERY creamy a smooth! not too sweet which is great coz you want the cream to come through as well as the pastry. I used a different cream puff shell recipe that I know is tried and true with a hollow inside. THX!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsierose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Just finished baking these. The custard was pretty good, though a little bland in my taste. I think I expected something more vanilla flavored or sweet. The pastry was a bit tasteless and bready. Also, I think something went wrong because they came out without any bottoms. Over all not that bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These were absolutely delicious! Make them - they are impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
My cream puffs turned out nothing like the ones in the pictures.. They turned out very eggy, and not at all like what I thought they would be. The custard was great, but the puffs didn't turn out well at all...Won't use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
the cream filling was good but my "Cream puffs" didn't puff at all.they were hard and cookie like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Easy to make and very tasty. I used them for finger sandwitches. Not all of mine puffed not sure what I did wrong. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
The pastry. I always use butter, not shortening. (thats why I gave it 4 stars) The custard is great, basic, old fashioned filling for the puffs, like people used to make that way years ago. When the custard is ready I add 1/2 cup of cooked sweetened condensed milk (boil a can for 2 hrs) and 1/2 cup of lemon pie filling. You may add other flavors or creams. For example, add coffee instead of lemon cream. Play with it and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Puff pastry was surprisingly easy and same out great, But the custard was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattswife1123

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GHOST_BJR
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Made this recipe at my job at the University of st.thomas. I quadrupled the recipe, and thoughout the week the residents personally came over and asked if they could see that this recipe is baked more often! I also baked this for my co-workers at a perkins and they were gone just like that! A FAVORITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GHOST_BJR

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States