Cream Puff Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I made these cream puff shells as directed and they came out perfect. I really did not have to pull out soft dough accept for a couple. I dropped onto pan with a spoon and it made a few peaks that got a little browner than the rest of the puff. Next time I will make sure they are smooth or pipe them onto the pan. I filled with sweetend whipped cream done with powdered sugar and vanilla. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This was the first time I made cream puff shells & I was nervous, but everything turned out just fine. Great, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Four stars just because I didn't like the shortening. 5+++ stars using butter. PERFECTO! I fill these mixing a box of instant vanilla pudding(not store brand-the good brand)with a milk and heavy cream mixture that is recommended on the box(on the box recommends milk but use half heavy cream as well-so much more delicious) What a perfect cream puff. I also drizzle choc on top of them. People do think I buy them at a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
My husband's Canadian family has had this recipe for a couple generations, and it is always a hit with guests. We fill with vanilla ice cream, and he makes his own caramel sauce to go over that - delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I tried this recipe and used butter instead of shortening! Shortening was way to heavy and they didn't rise but the butter they puffed right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Excellent cream puff shells. I filled them with the bavarian cream recipe I found here on allrecips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by subcook732

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ionia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
made these for a church potluck, they were pretty easy to make, but I felt that the temp of 450 was a bit much as my puffs started burning, maybe just my oven? Well anyways I had to play around with the temp and arranged my baking rack to the middle and just ended baking at 350 on the middle rack for 20 min, and then moving the cookie sheet to the top rack for the last 20 min still at 350, the puffs didnt burn on the bottom that time, and came out nice and golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosamond, California, USA
Living In: Silver City, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I made these for a Super Bowl party and they were gone before the game started. I filled them with French Vinalla pudding adding some almond extract for flavor. Made a chocolate sause, and drizzled on top. I put the dough in my electric mixer and added the eggs one at a time and beat them well after each addition. The dough was very shiney and they puffed up really nice. I baked them on parchment paper and did not prick them, and they came out wonderful. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I use butter and once the mixture has boiled, transfer it over to an electric mixer to beat in eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States