Cream Puff Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I never made cream puffs before, and I did mess up the first time I made these. On the second try they came out great. It was defintely operator error. I wanted small puffs, so I used my small cookie scoop to spoon them out and cooked them a little less time. I think my mistake was not mixing the eggs in enough. They came out as little hard balls. I found out the hard way that you really have to incorporate the eggs in very well. When you think you have done it enough, do it some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yo.mags

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Great recipe, however I found the baking time to be a tad too long. I took them out about 8 minutes before the timer was set to go off, and if I hadn't checked them they would have burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
they tasted too much like crisco. Next time I will use a stick of butter. I made pudding out of egg nog that coved the taste. I just remade them with butter. MUCH BETTER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Came out perfect! Filled with homemade vanilla pudding and topped with powdered sugar. Now in great demand both family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
These make a great appetizer for any party and can be filled with so many differnt things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MelissasMeals
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
AWESOME! Soooo easy! This was my 1st time making cream puffs and they came out great! I filled them with a sugar free chocolate mousse for my diabetic dad and he loved them!! Could totally be my oven but I only needed to bake mine for 20 minutes on 450 and they were done!! Thanks for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissasMeals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Didn't come out quite like I had hoped, but had good flavor. It probably will get better with practice as this was my first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I have never made cream puffs before this recipe. They turned out wonderfully. I filled them with 1-8oz block cream cheese whipped with 3 ripe bananas, 1/2 cup powdered sugar and 1 cup heavy cream. Next I am going to try adding garlic to the batter and filling with 1-8oz block cream cheese whipped with 1 cup sour cream; 1/4 cup green onions (finely chopped) and 1/4 cup parsley (finely chopped) Served with some bacon strips and tomato wedges!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catareen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Very easy. I followed this recipe to a T and they came out great. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This shell recipe was so easy and they turned out wonderful! I did use a medium sized ice cream scooper to dish out the dough and I cooked them for 15 min (since they were a bit smaller) at 450 then for 10 when you reduce the temp to 350! Making sure they were a dark GOLDEN brown they were then perfect! I used a whipping cream recipe from a Emeril Cookbook and it was SUPER yummy! The cream recipe was 1 cup heavy whipping cream with 2 Tablespoons of Powdered Sugar and 3/4 tsp. vanilla extract! I made a double batch of the cream to fill all the puffs. The first time beating it all the old-fashioned was with hand beaters and the second batch I used my Magic Bullet kitchen appliance to whip the cream! The Magic Bullet did the job in just Seconds!!!! They both were good but the Magic Bullet was by far the better option and the cream didn't seem to liquify as fast after sitting for awhile! But both ways work just fine. Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myhoneybear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States