Cream Puff Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I only used 3 eggs (that's all I had) and made mini-shells with golf ball sized dough balls. They turned out great - I served them with vanilla pudding, and I had a lot of requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suse3e8jr
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This recipe made amazing cream puff shells. I did use butter because that is what I had and I used my kitchen aid mixer to incorporate the eggs (all at once) to the mixture. I did turn the heat down to 350 degrees for the last 5 minutes of cooking. Thank you for the tip of tapping the shells ... They definitely sounded hollow. I took them out of the oven at once and placed them on a cooling rack and poked a hole in each one. They held their shape beautifully. I love the versatility of this recipe to make sweet or savory items. I served these with fresh sweetened strawberries with homemade whipped cream with a dash of powdered sugar on top. Hubby says this is how I should make strawberry "short cake" from now on since the dish is not overwhelmingly sweet. Thanks for the fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made these for the first time yesterday and just wanted to share some of my observations. The recipe says it makes 12 large puffs. If you portion it out equally, each puff will end up being about 3-4" in diameter. I followed the recipe exactly, using butter flavored crisco. Per another reviewers suggestion, I waited about ten minutes before I added the eggs, one at a time, and took the puffs out of the oven immediately (instead of cracking the door and letting them cool more slowly, as some one suggested). I did not sweeten them, since I added a sweet filling (half sweetened whipped cream, and half vanilla pudding, blended), and I didn't think they needed it. They were great! My only issue was that I baked a double batch all together, and the puffs on the bottom pan did not rise as nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
DELICIOUS AND FANTAMAZINGSOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Fantastic recipe. I use the puffs to make appetizers for special occasions. I fill them with chicken, shrimp or ham salad for little finger sandwiches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Carmel, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Great recipe.. I just didn't like the shortening (i usually do this recipe using butter but this time decided to give shortening a try). Added just a tad of vanilla to the dough.. scooped into 16 shells, then after cooling filled with chocolate whipped cream, and dipped them all in chocolate mousse. Decorated with chocolate chips and it was great! Everyone loved it.. Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Made Great, hollow, crunchy puff pastry shells!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Can the cooked cream puffs be frozen before filled . I would like to use 1/2 now and save the rest for later?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I love making these. And I love them in the summer with icecream and chocolate sauce yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Great, I just mixed everything and put the mixture into well greased muffin cups before baking. I served them with CHRISTINIBEANIE's Pastry Cream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States