Cream Puff Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Added 1 1/2 tsp of sugar, and followed instruction faitfully. Puffs were nicely golden brown at the end of bake time and hollow and dry inside. Stuck to my baking sheets though, so next time I will line my sheets. I filled the shells with Pastry Cream from this site. Delicious. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meryl
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Excellent recipe. The shells came out beautiful and tasted like something out of a bakery. I filled them with the Pastry Cream (also in allrecipes) and topped the puffs with a bit of leftover strawberry glaze (from Strawberry Pie II). They made for a great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meryl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Juan, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
I am a BIG proponent of using butter rather than marg or shortening, but in these, I recommend marg or shortening - it produces a better result. Also, try layering the filling - the cream cheese/whipped cream on the bottom - on top, add some lemon curd or vanilla or chocolate pudding (I'm recommending these in the order in which I think they "work"), then top with whipped cream. Finely grated lemon zest on top of the lemon filled pastries is wonderful. They look glorious, and (especially with the lemon curd) are a HUGE hit! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
Easy to make, quick to clear from the plate. The best part? Seeing all those beautiful puffs expand! The shells were crispy and light, and were a wonderful contrast to the cream cheese filling I used. The only difference I made to the directions was to reduce the 230 deg C cooking time to 15 mins and the 175 deg C cooking time to 10 mins, because by then the shells were a beautiful golden and hollow. I'll definitely make more and experiment with savoury fillings. *grins*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
I was very please at how these came out. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trac689

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
Came out great and so easy to make. I used to think cream puffs was an all-day affair but now I know better! Have made several times with wonderful reviews from friends and relatives. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This is the closest to a recipe I've been using; butter though, instead of shortening, and 1tsp. sugar (included when boiling with water etc). Usually the larger puff shells tend to have a bit of uncooked dough, like LouLou's trick, just scoop them out. I usually make mine either tiny or medium sized ones. With these sizes, I do a tiny hole (with a skewer) underneath them and pipe whipped cream (plain or flavoured - chocolate/coffee/butterscotch) with the small nozzle tip - a source of fascination with children, who can't figure out how the cream got in the puffy shells, lol. Made a croquembouche (cream puff pyramid) 2x too; once with chocolate sauce .. and once with toffee/caramel (love it), and spun sugar decorating it (Use two forks held side by side, and dip the ends into caramel. Hold the forks from a height, and wave the caramel back and forth over the croquembouche, allowing the strands to fall in long, thin threads around it. Wrap any stray strands up and around the croquembouche. Slightly messy work but fun). Serve them plain with powdered sugar sprinkled on them, or make eclairs with this dough. Tres magnifique! Endless possibilities from this simply pastry dough. Thanks for sharing your whipped cream cream cheese filling Hartini, sounds delectable and 'firmer' than plain whipped cream, will try it next time. Good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sereneblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
In Australia we know these as profiteroles (a French dish) and people make a spectacular wedding cake out of them by building the filled puffs into a pyramid and covering them with a hard toffee glaze. As plain profiteroles we serve them filled with whipped cream or custard and covered in chocolate sauce. This is a very good recipe! My oven is gas and only needed 220 degrees Celcius, not 230 for the first 20 minutes. One trick I know is that if some are still a little raw inside it is not unheard of just to scoop out the uncooked bit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
Every time I've made these they come out perfect! No one believes that I made them, I also took another's advise & fill them with 1/2 c whipping cream+1/3 c sugar+8 oz cream cheese. They're a huge hit at any gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I've made these so many times and they turn out really good every time. I fill these with whipped cream mixed with cream cheese [1/2 cup whipping cream + 1/3 cup sugar + 8oz cream cheese] and they taste like little cheese cakes but in cream puff shells. And on some variations, I drizzle melted chocolate on the shells. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States