Cream Puff Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I make cream puffs a few times a year and this is a really good recipe. Make sure you cook the flour till it pulls away from the sides of the pan and looks kinda dry and don't forget 1 egg at a time. Don't cut out steps. You can fill these with anything. I make custard or a nepoleon cream. You can also fill with fresh fruit like berries maserated in sugar with a spoon of whipped cream. I usually drizzle with chocolate or a hard caramel. If you like them sweet use about 2T. sugar in the water, flour, butter mixture. If you want to make these savory omit sugar, up the salt a little and you can even add pepper to them to make them tastier. Fill with salmon mousse or a savory cheese spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Came out perfectly but had to only give 4 stars because there is one direction missing - you are supposed to let the dough sit for 10 minutes after the mixture stirs into a ball. THEN add the eggs - one at a time. I made some mini cream puffs and some regular sized ones. The mini ones I filled with whipped cream (sweetened) and the larger ones with a homemade vanilla pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Never having made cream puff shells before, I had no idea how much beating it would take to make the dough "thick and shiny and ... breaks from spoon". That takes nearly 15 minutes and next time I will use my stand mixer with the bread dough blade instead of doing it by hand. And the puff shells turned out great! I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
A little too eggy, but still good. I did it with a vanilla pudding center and a vanilla glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
very good recipe trust me! I used plain flour instead of all- purpose flour and when i added the eggs with the ball of mixture , i felt that it wasnt gonna be good cos there were lumps no matter how long i mix . but i was wrong! even , though there were small dough lumps that i couldnt flatten , i baked them still ,and the puff still worked! the flat mixture puffed up and my elder brother felt that it can be compared to the bakers. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This was okay. Not really what I was hoping for. Sort of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Hubby loves cream puffs, so I make these often for him. You can also substitute beer for the water and fill the puffs with chicken, tuna or egg salad! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I tried these a few times. They definitely are easy to make not don't take a long time. I did find that they were too eggy tasting for me. I would also recommend using a vanilla pudding mixture for the filling. The pastry is a little to bland for just plain whip cream. Not bad overall but I'll keep looking for the bakery taste I'm hunting for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Wow I have tried to make cream puff shells before and failed but this was by far the best recipe I have ever tried, It came together just as it says it will . easy to follow and great results !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
These turned out very well and were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States