Cream Puff Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
I have a similar recipe and use a jelly roll pan instead of 9x13 -- I like it much better as the layers aren't so thick, and it serves a large crowd. Just decrease the cooking time of the crust a little. Also, increase the milk to 4 cups, use 12 oz Cool Whip over pudding layer, and drizzle on a glaze of: 2 T butter melted with 1/3 cup chocolate chips, add 1 C powdered sugar and 2 T hot water. Then top with chopped, toasted pecans and serve chilled -- not frozen. My family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Just came across this recipe and had to write a review. This is an old standby for us! It is often requested for gettogethers with friends and family. I make it with cheesecake flavored pudding - gives it that eclair taste. To avoid lumps in the cream cheese mixture, be sure to beat your cream cheese alone until fluffy before adding the pudding. Our all-time favorite dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This recipe has been a staple in our family for years... with two changes. I use a larger pan and cook the crust for much shorter and I've never used chocolate pudding, always vanilla or french vanilla! To die for and ALWAYS a huge hit at any get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMANESSA8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Fantastic dessert, couldn't be simpler to make. I made this almost completely sugar free for my husband for Turkey Day as he is diabetic. I took a hint from someone else and used sugar-free cheesecake pudding. I thought the flavor needed a little punch, so I added a few drops of vanilla and almond extracts. Topped it with Cool Whip Lite sugar-free and Lite Hershey's syrup. I also toasted some chopped pecans with a smidge of butter, some Splenda Brown Sugar baking blend and some cinnamon. It was a huge success!!! Our fellow diners had no idea it was sugar-free. I'm also going to try is with SF coconut pudding and toasted almonds and toasted coconut on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
This is a wonderful recipe, I've taken this to several potlucks and just took it to a Christmas Progressive dinner this last weekend. I ALWAYS! come home with an empty dish and lots and lots of compliments. Thank you Rebecca for putting the recipe on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I've tried outless cream puff recipes and this has to be the best! Everything came out absolutely perfectly, and it was delicious. I tried a whipping cream filling instead of the creamcheese though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I have made this many times. I usually use sugar free pudding, light cream cheese and fat free whipped topping to reduce the calorie content. I have made it with several different pudding flavors all to rave reviews. I alternate toppings depending on the pudding flavor. I like the idea of baking it in a jelly roll pan. Definitely whip the cream cheese before adding the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Delish! Everyone LOVED this- was a nice light dessert! Instead of putting in a baking pan, I used a cookie sheet, put parchment paper over it, and spread the 'crust' on it. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RACHIEH
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This is my husband's fave! I add a little vanilla and sugar to the choux before adding the flour. I got this same recipe from somewhere else, but have never tried to freeze it. I had better not, or I'll be making it every weekend, right? Leftovers are NOT good, so make sure it is gone. Wonderful, refreshing dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Try this w/ coconut cream pudding and then sprinkle toasted coconut on top. I've made this many times and for some reason at times the crust is pourable and at times it's sticky and needs spreading. If eggs are large decrease to 3 because it can start tasting really 'eggy'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissSheila06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States