Cream of Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I used home jarred tomatoes to make this, and it came out wonderfully! I plan to use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
Made this last night with fresh tomatoes--with grilled cheese sandwiches, it was the perfect meal for a cool fall evening. The soup is very flavorful and pretty easy and beats the canned stuff hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
Made this last night for dinner, everyone loved it. Seemed a little sweet next time I think I'll cut back on the sugar, but a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
I loved this wonderful recipe (very similar to my mother-in-laws) using 2 - 14.5oz canned whole tomatoes that I just mashed up with a spoon. I also only used about 1 and a half cups of milk. It was a big hit, even with my 3 toddlers who have never had tomato soup before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIANAYUM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I used this recipe as more of a guideline for my soup. I used canned tomatos because they're more flavorful and ripened on the vine. I just substituted molasses for sugar. It was delish I'm on my 5th bowl (I'm pregnant) and I just wish I had some crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Very good, basic recipe! My toddler son refuses to drink milk, so I have to sneak his calcium in where ever I can. Someone had suggested canned tomato soup, but it is packed with corn syrup, so I thought I'd make some homemade. He loves this soup and I do, too! Easy to make and tasty. I didn't have any marjoram, but it was great without it. In a pinch, I make this soup with a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes and it is wonderful. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Justlooking for tomato soup to have crackers with, this is a winner. Used a roux instead of a slurry. Used boiling water bath for fresh tomatoes, peeled them then quartered them, cooked with the baking soda. (Great idea there, also, if you put a pinch of baking soda in the water you make your japanese "dim-sum" dough, the dough has a "sweeter taste). Only 1/2 cup milk into roux, poured that into tomatoes, maybe 1/2 cup water for right consistency. Also sfox, its "disgusting" not "discusting". Am keeping this recipe in my recipe box, no seasoning except salt and white pepper, eat with crackers. Delicious. Lana Guinn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
5 stars for ease and taste. I used up the 1 fresh tomato I had on hand with canned ones. I used Italian seasoning, which is practically the same as the ones called for, because I didn't have any of the individual spices. I also pureed the soup, and ate my second bowl with grated cheddar cheese on top. Both were GREAT, I will be making this again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was the best tomato soup ever! I upped the servings to 10 since I was making it for a playgroup. I used 7 fresh tomatoes and one 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes (no salt added) since tomatoes are so expensive this time of year. I used 1% milk, FRESH HERBS (SOOOO TASTY!!!!), and added one can of tomato paste. It came out amazing! The kids even loved it! They put fishy crackers in theirs and us adults had it with Feta cheese (per another reviewer) and it was sooooo good. I recommend using fresh herbs and letting it simmer for a while. It smells amazing. I made mine the night before and then heated it back up on the stove - even BETTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
this is an amazing recipie. i made it for a school health project and it turned out great. to peel the tomatoes, just stick them in boiling water until the skins begin to come off. it makes peeling tomatoes a world easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States