Cream of Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I left the marjoram out only because our family does not care for that spice. I made no other changes. Nice basic cream of tomato soup. The kids raved about it. I paired this with homemade italian grilled cheese sandwiches. GREAT comfort food meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
This came out quite delicious. I did have to make a few changes to mine. For instance, I used a Tbsp of Italian seasoning instead of the dried herbs, I also added a bit more salt than it called for since my soup came out a bit bland. Finally I had to thicken up my milk more with roux (mixture of melted butter and flour) before I added it to the tomatoes but my tomatoes were very watery. Besides that ;) The recipe came out delicious and was definately the best tomato soup I have tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
I loved this wonderful recipe (very similar to my mother-in-laws) using 2 - 14.5oz canned whole tomatoes that I just mashed up with a spoon. I also only used about 1 and a half cups of milk. It was a big hit, even with my 3 toddlers who have never had tomato soup before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIANAYUM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
VERY easy! I will make it again but next time I will leave out the spices (except salt and pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Very good, basic recipe! My toddler son refuses to drink milk, so I have to sneak his calcium in where ever I can. Someone had suggested canned tomato soup, but it is packed with corn syrup, so I thought I'd make some homemade. He loves this soup and I do, too! Easy to make and tasty. I didn't have any marjoram, but it was great without it. In a pinch, I make this soup with a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes and it is wonderful. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I've been searching for a tomato soup recipe that tastes like it took hours but in reality is simple and quick. Finally I found one! I like my tomato soup thick and a little chunky, so I used 4 cans of diced and peeled tomatoes. When heating them I added a Tbsp butter, lots of salt/pepper, and tsp sugar. Once it was hot and lost most of its liquid I blended half the tomatoes and added a small can of tomato paste, when that was smooth I barely blended the rest of the tomatoes in. I did not have marjoram and could not find the basil in my spice drawer so I used an Italian mix that had the three spices a long with garlic... It was discusting! Since then I dont add the spices and it is great. Thanks for this EASY recipe that is flexible to meet anyone's taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2000
This is a great light soup to make. I used the canned tomatoes and slightly pureed them. With grilled cheese sandwiches it was a quick and easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was the best tomato soup ever! I upped the servings to 10 since I was making it for a playgroup. I used 7 fresh tomatoes and one 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes (no salt added) since tomatoes are so expensive this time of year. I used 1% milk, FRESH HERBS (SOOOO TASTY!!!!), and added one can of tomato paste. It came out amazing! The kids even loved it! They put fishy crackers in theirs and us adults had it with Feta cheese (per another reviewer) and it was sooooo good. I recommend using fresh herbs and letting it simmer for a while. It smells amazing. I made mine the night before and then heated it back up on the stove - even BETTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Good recipe, added a little feta cheese for more flavor though. My boyfriend liked it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Thessaloniki, Central Macedonia, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
i found the most beautiful heirloom tomatoes at the market, and decided to try using a variety in a tomato soup. i added a bit of minced garlic to the stewing tomatoes, and a bit of cayenne at the end with thyme substituting in the role of marjoram. Absolutely Delicious! and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States