Cream of Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I used home jarred tomatoes to make this, and it came out wonderfully! I plan to use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I too found this recipe a little "blah". I doubled this recipe and added more spices,1 can of tomato paste,1 can of tomato soup and 2 undilluded vegetable boillon tablettes. It picked it up nicely!I will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Minesing, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I used this recipe as more of a guideline for my soup. I used canned tomatos because they're more flavorful and ripened on the vine. I just substituted molasses for sugar. It was delish I'm on my 5th bowl (I'm pregnant) and I just wish I had some crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
It was missing something. I had to add some sugar and a bit more salt for it to come out the way I liked it. Give it a try. With a little fiddling it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Good recipe, added a little feta cheese for more flavor though. My boyfriend liked it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Thessaloniki, Central Macedonia, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
VERY easy! I will make it again but next time I will leave out the spices (except salt and pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
This came out quite delicious. I did have to make a few changes to mine. For instance, I used a Tbsp of Italian seasoning instead of the dried herbs, I also added a bit more salt than it called for since my soup came out a bit bland. Finally I had to thicken up my milk more with roux (mixture of melted butter and flour) before I added it to the tomatoes but my tomatoes were very watery. Besides that ;) The recipe came out delicious and was definately the best tomato soup I have tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I've been searching for a tomato soup recipe that tastes like it took hours but in reality is simple and quick. Finally I found one! I like my tomato soup thick and a little chunky, so I used 4 cans of diced and peeled tomatoes. When heating them I added a Tbsp butter, lots of salt/pepper, and tsp sugar. Once it was hot and lost most of its liquid I blended half the tomatoes and added a small can of tomato paste, when that was smooth I barely blended the rest of the tomatoes in. I did not have marjoram and could not find the basil in my spice drawer so I used an Italian mix that had the three spices a long with garlic... It was discusting! Since then I dont add the spices and it is great. Thanks for this EASY recipe that is flexible to meet anyone's taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
I loved this wonderful recipe (very similar to my mother-in-laws) using 2 - 14.5oz canned whole tomatoes that I just mashed up with a spoon. I also only used about 1 and a half cups of milk. It was a big hit, even with my 3 toddlers who have never had tomato soup before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIANAYUM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States