Cream of Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
this is an amazing recipie. i made it for a school health project and it turned out great. to peel the tomatoes, just stick them in boiling water until the skins begin to come off. it makes peeling tomatoes a world easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was the best tomato soup ever! I upped the servings to 10 since I was making it for a playgroup. I used 7 fresh tomatoes and one 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes (no salt added) since tomatoes are so expensive this time of year. I used 1% milk, FRESH HERBS (SOOOO TASTY!!!!), and added one can of tomato paste. It came out amazing! The kids even loved it! They put fishy crackers in theirs and us adults had it with Feta cheese (per another reviewer) and it was sooooo good. I recommend using fresh herbs and letting it simmer for a while. It smells amazing. I made mine the night before and then heated it back up on the stove - even BETTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This is a good recipe but I added 1 Tablespoon minced garlic and 1 Tablespoon sugar. Also extra salt and pepper. I just thought it needed a little more flavor. Great base to add to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I was not a fan of this soup. I had to keep adding salt to get any flavor at all. It barely had a tomatoey flavor... and it was pink! I was looking for a homemade alternative to Campbells and this was not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I used the last batch of fresh summer tomatos. Taking a hint from other reviews I sauteed 1/2 an onion and 2 cloves of garlic in 2T of butter and added that to the tomato mixture for extra flavor. I also added more salt and increased the spices to my families preference. Without those changes, I think the soup would have been quite bland. I put the onions and garlic in the food processor so except for the taste they were not noticeable in the soup. We enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
5 stars for ease and taste. I used up the 1 fresh tomato I had on hand with canned ones. I used Italian seasoning, which is practically the same as the ones called for, because I didn't have any of the individual spices. I also pureed the soup, and ate my second bowl with grated cheddar cheese on top. Both were GREAT, I will be making this again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Justlooking for tomato soup to have crackers with, this is a winner. Used a roux instead of a slurry. Used boiling water bath for fresh tomatoes, peeled them then quartered them, cooked with the baking soda. (Great idea there, also, if you put a pinch of baking soda in the water you make your japanese "dim-sum" dough, the dough has a "sweeter taste). Only 1/2 cup milk into roux, poured that into tomatoes, maybe 1/2 cup water for right consistency. Also sfox, its "disgusting" not "discusting". Am keeping this recipe in my recipe box, no seasoning except salt and white pepper, eat with crackers. Delicious. Lana Guinn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baby Potsticker
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Im giving this recipe 2 stars because it was so bland and flavorless. I added chicken bouillon, garlic powder, more pepper and doubled the herbs. I also poured in an 8 oz can of plain tomato sauce. This gave it more flavor and color, it looked pink. After a few alterations it tasted much better. Although, I wonder if this recipe would benefit from a few hrs on low heat (or crock pot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I started by sauteeing one onion in butter, used high quality canned tomato puree instead of fresh tomatoes (fresh tomatoes are grown for long-distance, damage-free transport, not eating), and ditched the baking the soda. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Excellent!!! I did puree my tomatoes in the food processor for a nice smooth soup. I used frozen fresh tomatoes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States