Cream of Tomato (Tofu) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
You'd never believe this was vegetarian if you didn't see it being made. So tasty! Personally, I like to add some diced garlic (about 1 or 2 cloves) to the sauteing onions and tomato, and chopped basil to the soup when I pour in the tofu mixture (rather than just as a garnish). I'm also slightly lazy, so I substitute an equivalent amount of no-salt-added canned diced tomatoes, and use the reserved juice from the cans in place of the water. Keep in mind - this will thicken upon standing, so if you're making extra to put in the fridge, you may need to add a bit of tomato juice or water when you reheat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I doubled the tomatoes and onion, cooked in garlic olive oil. I added 16 oz of soft tofu and a can of Progresso cream of tomato soup and mixed it all with an emulsion blender. The texture was weird so I put it in batches through a sieve. Then it was good! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
amazing! you would not believe that there was no cream or milk products in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serena shultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fortuna, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
even better reheated tofu becomes nonexistent yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
absolutely amazing, very creamy and excellent tomatoey taste, adding cheese or "cheese" to it makes an excellent addition as i found out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
The only change was I added some basil, which helped, but we thought it was just okay. I guess it's pretty good for being low calorie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Wonderful! The only thing I did differently was add some minced garlic with the tomatoes and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
ok well i altered this recipe a little bit and it was AMAZING. but if i hadnt altered it it would have been blan. SO i recomend that u add salt, pepper, basil, parsley and oregano to the sauted tomatoes and onion. and i used canned tomatoes so i didnt need to add water becasue the canned tomatoes had so much tomatoe juice. good luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
SO GOOD! and so easy. I used the Low sodium condensed soup and added garlic and spinach to the sautee and replaced scallions for onions, out of convenience. Next time I'll loose the spinach, but this stuff went quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
This is a great recipe, especially for the kids. I added garlic and an italian blend of basil, oregano, and rosemary. This is wonderful, especially on a cold night! Also great with grilled cheese or a nice loaf of french bread! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States