Cream of Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Wow! Easy and by far the best homemade tomato soup I have ever had. I did use garden tomatoes though. I used 3lbs of fresh tomatoes, cored, peeled and then I let them run in the food processor on high for 4 minutes. I used that instead of juice. It had a few seeds that didn't get pulverized but it certainly didn't hurt the soup at all. Also, I added about 1/4 cup of fresh basil chopped up at the point I added the tomato and I let that cook in with it and I used a pinch of baking soda and a tablespoon of sugar to help reduce the acid in the soup. I didn't do it this time but you can also substitute whipping cream for the milk to make it a little more rich. All I can say is awesome Julie! A frozen pizza darn near takes longer to cook than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Who needs canned soup!!! This is delicious and easy to make. I add the milk after I make the roux and then add a 28oz. can of crushed tomatoes instead of tomato juice. It makes the soup much heartier and leaves nice little tomato bits. I've made this 3x and shared the recipe once...I won't buy canned tomato soup again when this is so easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
My wife suggested cream of tomato soup and this was my first experience making it. I added a carrot, a clove of garlic, and a stalk of celery to the onion sautee and pureed it along with some of the milk and tomato juice before adding it to the roux. Made the roux with the flour and a little corn meal(masarepa) to make it thicker. Also substituted some light cream for some of the milk, and served it topped with fresh, chopped basil and fresh black pepper. No extra salt was required because the tomato juice was salted. Excellent, thick and creamy. Great on a cold, damp day with roasted potato wedges, crusty bread, and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
There's almost always more than one way to skin a cat, and I kind of took this basic recipe and ran with it. I have a tomato garden in the back yard, so I blanched, pureed and strained the seeds out to make my own tomato juice. However, I'm sure it would taste fine with store bought. I pureed the onion too, to achieve a smoother textured soup. I used a bit more butter than called for, and I used 1/2 1% milk and 1/2 whole milk for a creamier flavor. I also added a shot of tabasco, some garlic powder, chicken broth granules instead of salt, and plenty of fresh cracked pepper. I got to thinking - you could do up a big batch of this without the milk, freeze it in 2 cup sized leftover containers, then reconstitute with milk later. No more Cambells! The soup tastes very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
This soup was fabulous!! I substituted V-8 Juice for the tomato juice for a little extra spice and it turned out great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This was a really good cream of tomato soup recipe! I added the milk, and allowed it to cook with the tomato mixture before taking it off of the stove, since I didn't want it to get cold. I think the next time I make this, I will add the milk first, so it can cook with the roux, then add the tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This is the same recipe I learned in grade 7 home-ec 30 years ago. I still made it from the original recipe card. Easy to make changes depending on your mood...garlic, fresh tomato, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
All I can say is why would anyone eat canned soup with this easy recipe. Although I did change it a little it was still very easy and tasty and every one loved it. Okay for the changes, I used V8 juice (42oz bottle, smallest I could find), so I increased butter and flour to 3T. I sauted the onion and then added the flour and 1 can (14oz) condensed milk (not sweetened). Then I added the juice and brought to a light boil. Then I added 1/2 package (8oz) of cream cheese and wisked till smooth. The soup was great. My husband, who doesn't like tomato soup, said it was "munchable", which is a good thing. Thanks for sharing this easy recipe. I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amelia Court House, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This was pretty easy and tasty! However, because of the 10 minutes of cooling time plus the addition of milk, the soup wasn't warm when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
I have a very picky little boy. He was born a vegetarian and I have trouble finding things he will eat with the rest of the family. But this soup worked like a charm! He loves it and so does my daughter. Jessie Davidian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States