Cream of Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
I have a very picky little boy. He was born a vegetarian and I have trouble finding things he will eat with the rest of the family. But this soup worked like a charm! He loves it and so does my daughter. Jessie Davidian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This was pretty easy and tasty! However, because of the 10 minutes of cooling time plus the addition of milk, the soup wasn't warm when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
This soup was fabulous!! I substituted V-8 Juice for the tomato juice for a little extra spice and it turned out great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This was a really good cream of tomato soup recipe! I added the milk, and allowed it to cook with the tomato mixture before taking it off of the stove, since I didn't want it to get cold. I think the next time I make this, I will add the milk first, so it can cook with the roux, then add the tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
WOW, easy and GOOD! I have made many soups, but not tomato, because I thought the Campbell's soup was just about the way a tomato soup should taste. THIS recipe is GOOD, better than the canned (duh!) YUM! My young daughter even raved about it! A pinch of dried basil added really completed the taste! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA HUME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
In South Korea it is very hard to find canned soup. This recipe is a really easy alternative to canned tomato soup and my English class really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This is a very good soup recipe. I added about a tablespoon of sugar to knock off the sour edge of the soup and it was great. In order to keep the milk from cooling the soup down, I microwaved it until warm before adding it to the soup. I also carmalized my onions in the butter on low heat before adding the flour. This also helped give the soup a little bit more sweetness and the flour didn't taste raw. Great with a grilled cheese sandwich, and garnish the soup with a sprig of basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carrier Mills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Simplicity at its best! Caramelized chopped red onion in butter; added a nice sweetness--nice compliment to tomato base. Will add chopped celery next time. Used V8 juice. Warmed milk in a separate pot, then added to hot soup base. Next time I'll cut back on the milk (to 1.25 or 1.5 cups), because it was too 'milky' in flavour for me: I just prefer more tomato taste which was a bit lost due to 2C of milk. Thanks for the Quick-N-EZ recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
This tasted really good. However it does not have the look of your traditional Tomato Soup. I don't have a wisk so maybe that had something to do with it. I could see the butter in the soup. I guess I am picky on how my food looks when eating it. I think the next time I make it I will let it slow cook in a slow cooker and see how the results turn out. It really is very good and very flavorful. Thanks for a quick, easy and good soup Julie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
Thank you for posting the recipe..I used 1 quart of canned tomatoes and a pinch of baking soda for the acid..great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States