Cream of Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
All I can say is why would anyone eat canned soup with this easy recipe. Although I did change it a little it was still very easy and tasty and every one loved it. Okay for the changes, I used V8 juice (42oz bottle, smallest I could find), so I increased butter and flour to 3T. I sauted the onion and then added the flour and 1 can (14oz) condensed milk (not sweetened). Then I added the juice and brought to a light boil. Then I added 1/2 package (8oz) of cream cheese and wisked till smooth. The soup was great. My husband, who doesn't like tomato soup, said it was "munchable", which is a good thing. Thanks for sharing this easy recipe. I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amelia Court House, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Wow! Easy and by far the best homemade tomato soup I have ever had. I did use garden tomatoes though. I used 3lbs of fresh tomatoes, cored, peeled and then I let them run in the food processor on high for 4 minutes. I used that instead of juice. It had a few seeds that didn't get pulverized but it certainly didn't hurt the soup at all. Also, I added about 1/4 cup of fresh basil chopped up at the point I added the tomato and I let that cook in with it and I used a pinch of baking soda and a tablespoon of sugar to help reduce the acid in the soup. I didn't do it this time but you can also substitute whipping cream for the milk to make it a little more rich. All I can say is awesome Julie! A frozen pizza darn near takes longer to cook than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
This recipe was super easy! I did make a few changes - I didn't have any onion on hand so I used minced garlic (about 1 TB or more). Also, I added the milk (only 1 1/2 cups as other reviewers suggested) to the roux first and heated it till it thickened, then I added the tomato juice. It tastes very good and was definately worth the effort. The perfect addition to a grilled cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
There must be something in the air...I, too, like the previous poster woke up today with a craving for creamy tomato soup, and here I am in NC with scorching summer heat and 105 degree temperatures outside! Anyway, this was great, quick & easy but I had to make a couple of changes...Didn't have onions on hand so I just melted the butter with some dried basil, then whisked in the flour. Next the tomato juice, and finally, instead of 2 cups milk, I substituted 1 cup of heavy whipping cream and 1 cup of milk. This made it extra rich & creamy! Thanks for the quick & satisfying recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Don't ask me why, but I was craving cream of tomato soup when I woke up this morning. Granted, it is the heart of summer in Washington DC, almost 100 degrees outside and MUGGY MUGGY MUGGY. Doesn't everyone crave soup in these conditions? Well I must say this hit the spot. I caramelized a giant red onion as others suggested (place onions in the butter, turn heat to low, and cook onions until they begin to stick together, about 20 minutes), added a can of 'stewed tomatoes with celery and bell pepper' when the onions were done, then followed the recipe exactly. I used Campbells Tomato Juice and I used whole milk for a very creamy flavor. My craving for soup in the midst of July was satisfied! This is delicious! (I wish I had some bread and cheese... grilled cheese would be the perfect accompaniment).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2005
Thank you for posting the recipe..I used 1 quart of canned tomatoes and a pinch of baking soda for the acid..great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
This tasted really good. However it does not have the look of your traditional Tomato Soup. I don't have a wisk so maybe that had something to do with it. I could see the butter in the soup. I guess I am picky on how my food looks when eating it. I think the next time I make it I will let it slow cook in a slow cooker and see how the results turn out. It really is very good and very flavorful. Thanks for a quick, easy and good soup Julie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Simplicity at its best! Caramelized chopped red onion in butter; added a nice sweetness--nice compliment to tomato base. Will add chopped celery next time. Used V8 juice. Warmed milk in a separate pot, then added to hot soup base. Next time I'll cut back on the milk (to 1.25 or 1.5 cups), because it was too 'milky' in flavour for me: I just prefer more tomato taste which was a bit lost due to 2C of milk. Thanks for the Quick-N-EZ recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This is a very good soup recipe. I added about a tablespoon of sugar to knock off the sour edge of the soup and it was great. In order to keep the milk from cooling the soup down, I microwaved it until warm before adding it to the soup. I also carmalized my onions in the butter on low heat before adding the flour. This also helped give the soup a little bit more sweetness and the flour didn't taste raw. Great with a grilled cheese sandwich, and garnish the soup with a sprig of basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carrier Mills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
In South Korea it is very hard to find canned soup. This recipe is a really easy alternative to canned tomato soup and my English class really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States