Cream of Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
If you're looking for a creamy tomato soup this is NOT it. It just tasted like canned tomatoes. I added basil, pepper and sugar to make it more palatable and will thicken it up later to see if I can salvage it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Yum, yum good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This is a great recipe! I needed cream of tomato soup to make a pasta salad and this soup fit the bill. I substituted the tomato juice for some fresh tomatoes which I pureed in the blender because I didn't have any tomato juice. My dish was a hit! Thanks for a lot for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I have made this recipe many times and it is really delicious! This isn't a thick soup, but it's tasty and creamy and pairs perfectly with a grilled cheese sandwich! The one change I make is straining out the chopped onions- you are left with the onion taste but no lumps in your soup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
this totally just helped my craving for grilled cheese and tomoto soup! had some v8 in the fridge that i wanted to use up, made a single serving for lunch in no time! used about 1 tbls butter and flour (no onion since it seemed odd to me) and about a cup of v8 then stirred in a little milk to cream it up. very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateroo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
4 stars because of extra ingredients I had to add. I always have better results taking other reviewers changes and I did use a a few on this one. I pureed onions and one garlic clove and warmed/sauted, added flour and butter. I pureed two cans of petite diced tomatoes and wisked into previous mixture. Warmed milk and added. I felt there was a lack of tomato flavor so I added 1 6oz tomato paste. I added a pinch of baking soda and teaspoons of sugar to my liking. I added 4oz of cream cheese as someone else suggested. Added sweet basil, salt and pepper to liking. I had to really play with this to get that classic "Campbell's" like flavor. I made my own tomato soup to evade high fructose corn soup which is one of the 1st ingredients of Campbells. It taste pretty darn good now. Now, gotta make the grilled cheeses of course..yum! Thanks to recipe originator for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Not really our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I made this soup this evening and it is not what I was hoping for. Very bland, tastes like warmed up tomato juice. I used half and half for a creamier soup and it still didn't help. Do not recommend this reciepe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Although this soup is incredibly easy to make, unfortunately the end product tastes like warmed up tomato juice and minced onions and salt. Even adding the milk to the blend, there was absolutely no flavor. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italian_Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was great but I was looking for the recipe a deli owner had given to me years ago. It was made with the simplest pasta sauce. Make the roux with 2 tbs butter, 2 tbs. flour and 2 1/2 c milk. Once thickened add 1 jar of pasta sauce (plain no meat or vegs) and stir til hot and serve. It is great. Thanks for helping me "remember".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States