Cream of Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
My wife suggested cream of tomato soup and this was my first experience making it. I added a carrot, a clove of garlic, and a stalk of celery to the onion sautee and pureed it along with some of the milk and tomato juice before adding it to the roux. Made the roux with the flour and a little corn meal(masarepa) to make it thicker. Also substituted some light cream for some of the milk, and served it topped with fresh, chopped basil and fresh black pepper. No extra salt was required because the tomato juice was salted. Excellent, thick and creamy. Great on a cold, damp day with roasted potato wedges, crusty bread, and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This was good. Not like Campbell's as my son said but good. I will try adding some garlic and basil next time like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This is the same recipe I learned in grade 7 home-ec 30 years ago. I still made it from the original recipe card. Easy to make changes depending on your mood...garlic, fresh tomato, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
If you like a little chunkier soup, add a regular can of diced tomatoes w/ onion & basil...a nice addition....and put some grated parmesean cheese on just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Really easy, creamy, good texture. As another reviewer pointed out, you will wonder why you would buy canned when this is so easy to make. One of my 4 year old daughters did not care for the bits of onion, but a second in the blender cured that. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Sparrow Bush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This satisfied my craving. I decided to make this in a crock pot. I used V-8 in place of the tomato juice, and then added the milk before the V-8, as some other reviewers suggested. Added some basil and a bit of garlic. Next time I would use some cream to make it thicker, but this is a great, easy basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Nice and creamy great with homemade bread,add more tomatoes for richer taste try adding a clove of garlic and two large carrots . Nice and rich in taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Im only giving this 3 stars after reading what other reviewers posted. I think if you looked through the reviews and did what others did, this recipe might turn out yummy. Mine was just icky-not creamy or even close to thick as canned tomato soup. I will try again tho-using others' suggestions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Virginia, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This recipe is great! I have a very picky 5 year old, and she loved it. She actually ate two large bowls for lunch today! For those of you who have kids who love Campbell's I made a few changes that make it hard to tell the difference! The first thing I did different was use V8 (although I don't know if that made a difference). I also used an emulsifier to smoothe out the onions. I suppose that you could put it in the blender. I also added about two tablespoons of sugar to it. Finally I used a whole cup of heavy cream. Not too healthy, but it's a lot more than you get in a can of Campbell's. Sweet and salty, just the way she likes it. It is perfeclty delicious for those picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
There's almost always more than one way to skin a cat, and I kind of took this basic recipe and ran with it. I have a tomato garden in the back yard, so I blanched, pureed and strained the seeds out to make my own tomato juice. However, I'm sure it would taste fine with store bought. I pureed the onion too, to achieve a smoother textured soup. I used a bit more butter than called for, and I used 1/2 1% milk and 1/2 whole milk for a creamier flavor. I also added a shot of tabasco, some garlic powder, chicken broth granules instead of salt, and plenty of fresh cracked pepper. I got to thinking - you could do up a big batch of this without the milk, freeze it in 2 cup sized leftover containers, then reconstitute with milk later. No more Cambells! The soup tastes very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States